Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam?

Is This a Scam? Unsure whether an offer is genuine? Ask questions here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 7 June 2007, 22:39
Mick9599's Avatar
Mick9599 Mick9599 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Redditch
Timezone: GMT
Exclamation Western Union Scam

I recently escaped being fleeced by a supplier from America. He was selling via Alibaba using the name Mr. Junior Latchman at a company called SEQUIAM BIOMETRICS INC.
The company does exist, but does not sell any of the items he was offering and upon dealing with him he suddenly changed name to Jose Quispe and claimed that the goods were to be dipatched from a wharehouse in Italy.
He gave me a list of products and prices with the payment scheme below.

Quoting Jose Quispe :

> Hello,
> The total price that you have to pay for your order will be $1760 US. I
> will pay the shipping fees and you have to pay the Western Union fees.
> Sorry but at this moment I only have TV's in stock.
> The shipping will be mode from our office from Milano, Italy. We have to
> sell all the merchandise from all our offices because we wait a new shipment
> and we have to get rid of our old stock.
> The shipping and payment must be made trough TNT.
> I will explain to you step by step how this will work.
> 1) First you will have to send me your full name and address. I will
> need them for the shipping.
> 2) I go to the TNT store and leave the TV's onto your name as the
> intended receiver.
> 3) TNT will check the TV's to see if everything is OK with them and
> also the legal papers that will come along with the TV's.
> 4) TNT will send you a delivery notification to let you know they
> have the TV's, in which you will be told that they have the TV's and
> that they checked them.
> 5) At this point you will have to go to a Western Union Agent
> Location and make a money deposit on the TNT payment agent name for the
> amount we agreed.
> 6) After you make the deposit you will have to send the info about
> the money transfer to TNT (MTCN, sender's name and address)
> 7) TNT will verify the payment informations and if everything is in
> order they will deliver the TV's to you .
> 8) After you receive the TV's, check them and see that all is in
> order you will instruct TNT to send me the money.
> I will pay TNT for the shipping and you will pay Western Union for
> the Money Transfer fee.
> Please click on this link for more info:
>
> http://tnt-delivery.com/overseas.transactions/
>
> Hope to hear from you soon.
>
> Thank you,
>


Fortunately the alarm bells began to ring when he messed the qoute, selling himself short by 500USD and then offered to pay the postage fees, as long as I paid the Western Union fees.
You've got to give it to him, not only fleecing people, but further still getting people to pay his Western Union fees, thus paying for the privilage of being fleeced by him.
Check out the link too, I googled it and it is just acouple of pages knocked up waiting for some unsuspecting soul to buy in to.

I have contacted TNT and they are looking in to this, but I can assure you there is no such service offered by them.

Hope that somebody manages to read this before falling in to this trap.
Just be aware that he is one of many pathetic cowards who can't even square up to you when they attempt to mug you. Well of course you know this, that is why this site is so successful!!!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 7 June 2007, 23:33
FW Admin's Avatar
FW Admin FW Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The North Americas
Timezone: GMT-5
Languages:
The domain WHOIS information:
Quote:
Registrant:
VinceVince
105 parkview drive
council bluffs, IA 51503
US

Domain name: TNT-DELIVERY.COM

Administrative Contact:
Pomerleau, Vince etepwlaba@aol.com
105 parkview drive
council bluffs, IA 51503
US
+1.7123298576 Fax: +1.3105642007

Technical Contact:
Administrator, DNS dnsadmin@mediatemple.net
8520 National Blvd.
Suite A
Culver City, CA 90232
US
+1.8775784000 Fax: +1.3105642007



Registration Service Provider:
(mt) Media Temple, dnsadmin@mediatemple.net
877-578-4000
818-301-2774 (fax)
http://www.mediatemple.net/go/support/
To make contact, or to request technical support please first visit the
(mt) AccountCenter: http://www.mediatemple.net/go/support/


Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 12-Apr-2007.
Record expires on 12-Apr-2008.
Record created on 12-Apr-2007.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.MEDIATEMPLE.NET
NS1.MEDIATEMPLE.NET
You are absolutely correct - this is a totally 100% fake scammer's domain registration.

TNT are big enough to host their own servers and not rely on a hosting service - additionally they would register any of their domain names for a lot longer than one year.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 20 November 2007, 23:37
ElizabetC
Guest
 
Thanks for posting this... you saved me big time twice today!!!

I was surfing on craigslist.org (Las Vegas) looking for a laptop and I found this ad to which I replied asking more info. The answer I got was a replica of the post above. At that moment something didn't seem right but I only replied to the guy stating just that... "something doesn't look right so I will pass".... BUT... the thing is I am also selling a PC on craigslist (Visalia, CA.) and somebody replied to me asking me to remove the posting and to consider the PC sold to them. The terms; he was going to send a money order and I was to let him know as soon as I receive the money to arrange for pick up .. right? Well turns out he sent me another e-mail today stating his assistant had sent me the wrong payment (overpaying me) and my payment was sent to somebody else and to please deduct my part and send the rest back to him via Western union through the same shipping company he was using to arrange pick up my PC.... aahhemm!! something did not sound right at all! so I started looking for clues and found this website So THANK YOU!! and to the rest of the people please google anything that might seem suspicious everything is online!! avoid being scammed!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 24 March 2008, 02:01
x2ruff4u
Guest
 
Exclamation

Yeah I got the same today. Be careful people. This person wouldnt let me contact them either saying ohhh no its becuz of my work and what not. B.S u can call me. So then basicly this article here helped me I knew it was a scam, the weigh on the damn t.v was wrong to by 8 kg. So this helped me and be careful people Western union n what not NOT SAFE!!! go buy ur stuff from a store.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 07:38.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.