Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam? > Useful Investigation Hints & Tips

Useful Investigation Hints & Tips Various short articles about where to look pointers and guides

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 6 April 2007, 23:22
Frazzle's Avatar
Frazzle Frazzle is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Languages:
Checking addresses

http://maps.google.com/

This knows about street names and numbers in the USA, and some other countries. You can zoom in and then switch to Satellite view to see what the building looks like.

If you've been given a false address, you can be sure that the rest is a scam too.

However, even if the address is real, that doesn't guarantee that the rest of the email or letter isn't a scam. Scammers will sometimes give you someone else's real address.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 16 February 2008, 07:36
nutty nutty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
using someone elses addess etc

hi,
I agree.I had the address seem ok, but the phone number and the name were borrowed from other people
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 20 February 2008, 04:29
h3ali h3ali is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Unhappy some donkeys use the same address

hii,but in some places they use same adresses where they live.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 29 March 2008, 22:14
daphne daphne is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Languages:
I tried looking up this address:

http://www.alibaba.com/company/100071935.html

Why does google not recogize Jaipur Rajasthan India?
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 29 March 2008, 22:23
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Jaipur Rajasthan works fine for me on Google maps. Does not go down to Amer Road level.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 29 March 2008, 23:22
Frazzle's Avatar
Frazzle Frazzle is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Languages:
Quote:
Originally Posted by daphne View Post
I tried looking up this address:

http://www.alibaba.com/company/100071935.html

Why does google not recogize Jaipur Rajasthan India?
Some places, Google Maps only includes the main roads.

A Google search for "amer rd, jaipur. india" gets several hits which look legit, so I'd say the street does exist.

A Google for "Antiquariat, jaipur" gets several hits, so I'd guess that the company does exist.

However, I'd also say that "Sarraf Group" is a different entity. Firstly, here's their domain registration. Note that it is recent, and only for the minimum period of one year. Noite also that no real contact information is provided. This is not typical of real businesses, but it is very typical of scammers.

Quote:
Domain Name: SARRAFGROUP.COM
Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT LTD D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM
Whois Server: whois.PublicDomainRegistry.com
Referral URL: http://www.PublicDomainRegistry.com
Name Server: SCORPIO1.HOSTRIGHTNOW.COM
Name Server: SCORPIO2.HOSTRIGHTNOW.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 29-oct-2007
Creation Date: 30-aug-2007
Expiration Date: 30-aug-2008

>>> Last update of whois database: Sat, 29 Mar 2008 22:14:35 UTC <<<

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.Registration Service Provided By: HOSTRIGHTNOW
Contact: +91.1412601319

Domain Name: SARRAFGROUP.COM

Registrant:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Creation Date: 30-Aug-2007
Expiration Date: 30-Aug-2008

Domain servers in listed order:
scorpio2.hostrightnow.com
scorpio1.hostrightnow.com


Administrative Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Technical Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676

Billing Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Note that the Contact Us page at sarrafgroup.com is blank.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 18 March 2009, 11:35
alina s alina s is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Languages:
Exclamation is this a scam?

www.southeastlocaljobs.co.uk ,
www.peoplesearch.fr
www.theofficejob.com
support@tiptopjob.com
monster@route.monster.com
http://my.monster.co.uk

I want some informations...
Thank you!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #8  
Old 18 March 2009, 21:29
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
alina s, those sites are all, as far as I can tell, legitimate job posting sites, but you need to be aware that even legitimate job posting sites may have scammers using them, particularly the free ones.

Employment scams may take many forms. You may be asked to pay a fee of some sort to get a supposedly fantastic job in another country. Sometimes they claim this is a "deposit" or "insurance" fee. Or you may be asked to pay for a visa, or to cash checks "on behalf of" a company, or to pay a fee to join a program.

In short, any "employer" that asks you to pay a fee, of any kind, is likely to be a scammer. If you're being offered a job you're obviously not qualified for, or a "commission only" opportunity, or a "payment processing" job, or are offered a job without an interview of some sort,that would be a red flag. Be sure you check out any job postings directly with the company. For example, if you see an ad for a job a company, find the company website and check to see if they post job listings there or a contact for their Human Resources department. Contact them directly to confirm the job opening.
__________________
Before posting, please READ the posts visible on this page. Chances are, your question has already been answered. Or check out the links below.

No, you have not won Freelotto's jackpot
Thinking of getting a cat, dog or monkey?
Cashing a check and sending some or all of it back is never a good idea
Thinking of buying from a Chinese/Hong Kong seller? Have you done your homework?
So you've been scammed by a Chinese seller. Now what?
Downstairs, Sybil had cooked him a meal. She wasn't a very good cook. This was fine by Vimes, because he wasn't a very good eater. - Jingo by Terry Pratchett

I can be emailed at nyla.fw /at/ gmail.com
Fraudwatchers is now on Facebook
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 10:52.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.