Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers

Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers Are you worried about buying or selling? Need to know about a company or a website before you buy? Ask here for advice.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 22 August 2006, 20:24
wdjacobs wdjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Global Express

Global Express is supposed to be a third party shipping company, based in Madrid, and possibly Romania. Anyone ever heard of it, or is it a fake company? I've also seen it as Global Express Service Ltd.
I emailed them for info. They say that they do not have anything set up in the USA yet, but plan to. I cannot get any validation on their existence.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 22 August 2006, 20:33
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
Scammers often set up fake courier services to trick people their goods have been sent. Do they have a website? A name really is not much to go on to find out if they exist or not.
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 22 August 2006, 21:21
FW Admin's Avatar
FW Admin FW Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
No company based in Madrid calls themselves "Ltd." - a company that has this suffix is registered in the UK at Companies House - you can do a web check on company names registered with them here (only during the week between certain times - please check their website for details).
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 22 August 2006, 23:05
Frazzle's Avatar
Frazzle Frazzle is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Languages:
I think it is probably a fraud.

Googling for Global Express Service finds many courier companies (DHL, USPS, etc) offering a global express service, but no company by that name.

NO modern international courier company would be without a website.

Both Madrid and Romania are well-known haunts of scammers.

What is the context? Who has asked you to use this company? How much do you trust them?
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 23 August 2006, 11:25
wdjacobs wdjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Global Express website

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel
Scammers often set up fake courier services to trick people their goods have been sent. Do they have a website? A name really is not much to go on to find out if they exist or not.
Here is the website they have:
www.world-global-express.com
(Thanks for your reply to my question.)

Quote:
Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers

Last edited by Daneel : 20 May 2010 at 00:16.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 23 August 2006, 11:46
wdjacobs wdjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
bestelectronicshop.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frazzle
I think it is probably a fraud.

Googling for Global Express Service finds many courier companies (DHL, USPS, etc) offering a global express service, but no company by that name.

NO modern international courier company would be without a website.

Both Madrid and Romania are well-known haunts of scammers.

What is the context? Who has asked you to use this company? How much do you trust them?
The name of the company requesting Global Express is Best Electronics. On attempting to access their website, I get error message.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 23 August 2006, 14:08
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
Yep, www.world-global-express.com is a completely fake escrow site. These are fairly common and not very difficult to recognise if you know what to look for. This is not a real company as you suspected, it's just a website most likely set up by the same scammer who runs "Best Electronics".

More information on fake escrow sites can be found here:
http://escrow-fraud.com/

Quote:
Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"

Last edited by Daneel : 20 May 2010 at 00:16.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #8  
Old 23 August 2006, 21:19
wdjacobs wdjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Global Express website

Thank you Daneel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel
Yep, www.world-global-express.com is a completely fake escrow site. These are fairly common and not very difficult to recognise if you know what to look for. This is not a real company as you suspected, it's just a website most likely set up by the same scammer who runs "Best Electronics".

More information on fake escrow sites can be found here:
http://escrow-fraud.com/
Quote:
Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers

Last edited by Daneel : 20 May 2010 at 00:17.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 20:41.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.