Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Non-English Language Support Forums > Soutien des victimes en Français

Soutien des victimes en Français Si vous avez récemment été ou êtes actuellement une victime d'un "scam" ou d'une fraude, vous pouvez demander de l'aide ici

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2 October 2008, 10:50
mezedaki mezedaki is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Wink WASHINGTON PRIME PLUS

Dear Mr. Poirot,
A goodfriend of mine has a problem with a company called
WASHINGTON PRIME PLUS, INC.
620 Herndon Parkway
Suite 200
Herndon, Virginia
VA 20170
USA

Is there any way to find out how legal this company is? It appears that they evaporized... 40000$ in investments. Noone answers to her emails and not even on the phone they give answers. She has an answer from FINRA (financial industry regularity authority) which claim that this company is not registered in usa and a representative in greece called John Sevastakis (usa citizen) is most probably a crook. Is there any way to conirm if this company is legaly operating in USA? If it is necessary, mr. Poirot, I can send to your personal email details, which might be asked by them or others.

I wrote here as i didn't know how to find a new post.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 2 October 2008, 12:50
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
I will be moving this to it's own thread in the English forum.

I can tell you that the address is well known for being a virtual office, which can be nothing more than a mailbox.

Do they have a web site?
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 2 October 2008, 20:51
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
Quote:
She has an answer from FINRA (financial industry regularity authority) which claim that this company is not registered in usa
http://www.wpbrokers.com/corporate_profile.html
Quote:
WPP clients are provided with the unique combined advantages of professional administration, normally only found operating in a highly regulated environment and the preferential benefits of trading in the USA serviced by a team of specialist brokers.
If FINRA stated that WASHINGTON PRIME PLUS was not licenced to operate as an investment broker in the U.S., and WPP states clearly on their site that they are, if accurate that would indicate a fraud and you should report it to FINRA or the FBI.

WASHINGTON PRIME PLUS - www.wpbrokers.com - www.wpforex.com

They are using trading software from a Russian company according to: http://www.dealingoffice.com/news

It's sometimes difficult to separate the virtual offices from the real ones since most companies offer both such as the one at 620 Herndon Parkway, Suite 200, Herndon, Virginia

Quote:
WASHINGTON PRIME PLUS
Phone:+1 (703) 4645527
Fax: +1 (703) 4819844
Those numbers are from Verizon which could be anything from a wired line to a VoIP. Could also be from a virtual office service.

I can't find their listing on the online phone directories. Here are the businesses listed at that address:

I also can't see it listed as a brokerage firm.

or an investment adviser

The people to contact might be the Virginia authorities since WPP claims to be based there: http://www.scc.virginia.gov

Being "registered" in the u.s. doesn't necessarily means legitimate. Some operators will register a business under a different function than intended, in a state with soft regulations such as Delaware just to give themselves an appearance of legitimacy. They register with a U.S. rented mailbox, and VoIP or cell phone. That's the reason you must do a proper due diligence even with a business that seems to have solid U.S.A. coordinates.

We at Fraudwatchers are not qualified to do such research. We also don't evaluate investment plans. We can only point to red flags, if any.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 20:10.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.