Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam?

Is This a Scam? Unsure whether an offer is genuine? Ask questions here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 5 May 2006, 09:59
ARCHER3256's Avatar
ARCHER3256 ARCHER3256 is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Languages:
Thumbs up a new member of usbank?is it for real?

De : <support@usbank95160147.com>
Répondre à : <support.4176582.85739.20147834@notify.usbank.com>
Envoyé : lundi 1 mai 2006 06:02:18
À : <admin edit - removed personal address for protection>
Objet : RE: message! - 9896284443

| | | Boîte de réception

MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: from wave ([222.252.70.181]) by bay0-mc3-f14.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830); Thu, 4 May 2006 08:25:15 -0700
Received: (qmail 6602 by uid 318); Mon, 1 May 2006 12:02:18 +0700
Received: from wave (222.252.70.181) by wave with SMTP;
Received: (qmail 6602 by uid 318); Mon, 1 May 2006 12:02:18 +0700
X-Message-Info: txF49lGdW421yJw8Zvv7kgBrc8oPlTbTVz0FBW1cNxA=
Delivered-To: <admin edit - removed personal address for protection>
Return-Path: <admin edit - removed personal address for protection>
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 04 May 2006 15:25:15.0905 (UTC) FILETIME=[F1C75710:01C66F8E]


Dear Member USBank

This is your official notification from company that the service(s)

listed below will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately.

Previous notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to

this account. As the Primary Contact, you must renew the service(s) listed

below or it will be deactivated and deleted



EXPIRATION: May 6




https://www.usbank.com/InternetBanki...splayLoginPage


Sincerely,


============================================================ ====

This Alert was sent according to your settings (<admin edit - removed personal address for protection>). ============================================================ ====



Need help? Use "Site Helper" or call customer service at 1.800.576.7645.

Please do not "Reply" to this Alert.

©2006 Financial Group. All rights reserved
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 5 May 2006, 14:46
Miyuki's Avatar
Miyuki Miyuki is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
US Bank is based in California, I believe. There have been some recent spoof sites of US Bank, and I suspect this is probably fraudulent as well. The link at the bottom of the page is possibly a phishing link.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 5 May 2006, 14:57
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
Be wary of any email that threatens to close, deactivate, or charge you a fee if you don't click a link and "confirm" or "login" or "enter some personal/billing data". That's a sure sign of phishing. Real merchants/banks may remind you that the credit card you have on file with them is due to expire, but they don't threaten to close your account over it. And banks you have accounts with have your phone number and snail mail address, they don't need to threaten.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 5 May 2006, 15:21
Ed Fink Ed Fink is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
Strangley enough the web site appears legitimate and the link doesn't redirect to something like another site entirely. The domain is owned by US Bank and has been since 1995. There are three things that are fishy about it that I see. One is that it looks like a typical phishing email. Two, the return address is to a free email provider, not usbank.com. Three, the 800 phone number as far as I can tell is not listed.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 5 May 2006, 15:58
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
The link probably did redirect to some other place, but that didn't stay when it was copied into the forum.
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 5 May 2006, 15:59
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
Could be a phisher got sloppy and forgot to change the URL so it would redirect to the actual phishing site, which I've seen once or twice.

Additionally, if that was an HTML email and it's copied/pasted here, you wouldn't be able to see the redirect here in the forum. Just when you hover your mouse over it in the original mail. In the original mail, it might look more like this.

<a href="http://www.evilphishingserver.com">https://www.legitbanklinkhere.com</a>

What you would see (and copy/paste) would be the legit bank link. If you visited it from the HTML mail by clicking the link, you would go to the phishing site.

Hopefully I'm making some sense there...
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 6 May 2006, 08:38
ARCHER3256's Avatar
ARCHER3256 ARCHER3256 is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Languages:
Post AT ONCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel
The link probably did redirect to some other place, but that didn't stay when it was copied into the forum.
WHEN I RECEIVE A SCAM MAIL I PUT IT ON THE FORUM AS SOON AS I OPEN MY MAIL BOX TO CHECK MY MAIL.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #8  
Old 6 May 2006, 13:52
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
I found the actual redirect link in a newsgroup:

http://www.customers-usbank.com/inte...splayLoginPage

customers-usbank.com is not US Bank in spite of it's similarity. It seem to be shut down. Can't find a whois listing, perhaps because it's too recent.

Classic phishing scam.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 08:10.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.