Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Welcome to Fraudwatchers

Welcome to Fraudwatchers For all our members, come and introduce yourself here and share your experiences you've had with scammers. Visitors and guests may view these forums.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26 February 2008, 06:23
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Africa

Hi I am planning a trip to Africa and i am volunteering for two weeks with a company called African Impact, and then after volunteering i am touring for 20 days with a company called ZedAway. Both of these companies are based in the UK. I was just wondering if you would be able to check them out for me to make sure they are legitimate. Thank you.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 26 February 2008, 12:14
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by funinthesun View Post
African Impact
ZedAway.

Both of these companies are based in the UK.
African Impact [www.africanimpact.com] have been around a while. Make sure your communications are being done via an email address ending with "@africanimpact.com" and not anything else. Likewise any phonecalls should be to those on their contact page here. According to the contact page this group is in Zimbabwe, not the UK, so you will need to clarify this.

ZedAway [www.zedaway.com] have been around for a while too and have a London office address. Again, make sure communication emails match the domain name and that contact details match what is on the website. This one does have a UK follow me (+44 70) number in the contact us page [here] so that would no doubt redirect to anywhere. This is the first time I have seen a legitimate business using one of those.

No experience with either group, but they would be unlikely to have lasted this long if they were not anything but genuine. If you approached them via their websites then that is good, but bad if you got unsolicited email. Please do check email addresses and contact details with those on the websites to verify.

If everything matches up, I would have high confidence in both groups.

Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 27 February 2008, 00:27
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Thank you for your time!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 19 March 2008, 06:19
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Africa

hi! i am also going on a two day tour to Victoria Falls through a company named Afrizim. Could you check this company out for me? Thank you!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 19 March 2008, 10:48
Rob's Avatar
Rob Rob is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
Afrizim is a legit company, too (judging from their website) but it's a common tactic among scammers to impersonate them. They often claim to be associated with them but use email adresses from free services such as yahoo, hotmail, etc. Make sure that they answer you from an address that ends with afrizim.com.
__________________
Please help to keep Fraudwatchers.Org running!

If you think that Fraudwatchers.Org is useful and/or has helped you in any way, you may want to support us by buying from our shop. Click here for further information.

If you're interested in making a financial donation instead, send a private message to FW Admin or use the "contact us" form.
------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 19 March 2008, 21:15
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
Did you say at the bottom that this is a scam? The email address that they they use ends with flameofafrica.com
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 19 March 2008, 22:00
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by funinthesun View Post
hi! i am also going on a two day tour to Victoria Falls through a company named Afrizim.
Quote:
Originally Posted by funinthesun View Post
The email address that they they use ends with flameofafrica.com
Now you are talking about 2 different companies. It is time for you to explain in full because right now your lack of information is causing some issues. The quality of our responses is directly proportional to the quality of information we recieve.

Afrizim.com are a legitimate company, and flameofafrica.com are legitimate as far as I can see. Their site has been up since 2006.

If you contacted AFRIZIM.COM and THEY have directed you to FLAMEOFAFRICA.COM then that is fine. Rob's message above means to watch for emails that use FREE webmail accounts (Yahoo, Hotmail etc) that pretend to be a company.

In the end if you cannot ascertain whether a holiday company is legitimate, you should visit your local travel agency to find out.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #8  
Old 20 March 2008, 04:28
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Languages:
hi, sorry i was kind of confused at all of this myself. I went back to the Afrizim website, and i went to how to contact them. Their contact email is Afrizim[at]flameofafrica.com. I think that explains it. Does that make sense to you?

Last edited by John Fairheart : 18 May 2008 at 16:00. Reason: Obfuscated publically available email addresses. No need to feed SPAM bots.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #9  
Old 20 March 2008, 14:39
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Ahh yes, I see the contact us address on their main page. Yes that's perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #10  
Old 18 May 2008, 12:58
Alezxafrica's Avatar
Alezxafrica Alezxafrica is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Languages:
Info on Zedaway

Hi funinthesun
I've been doing some consultancy work with Zedaway and they're a bonafide UK company. They're basically holiday designers for Africa. I know they're also involved a lot with volunteer projects. You can e them at info[at]zedaway.com or check out www.zedaway.com for their tel no. Haven't heard any of the others, sorry. Have fun when you go ...

Last edited by John Fairheart : 18 May 2008 at 16:00. Reason: Obfuscated publically available email addresses. No need to feed SPAM bots.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 01:26.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.