Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Job and Employment Offers

Job and Employment Offers Have you received a job offer in your email inbox? Have you been asked to accept checks, money orders or wire transfers on behalf of a foreign company? Does the job involve the use of your PayPal or eBay account?

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 20 June 2012, 17:13
Miro Miro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Languages:
Talking Job advertisement in Cameroon

I recently had knowledge of a new (to me) scam.
Someone in Cameroon, posing as a responsable person from a important construction company (in 1 case based in South Africa, the other in Egypt), placed job advertisements in several websites in Portugal (similar ones were found in other countries, always in their native languages), offering a wide range of jobs in Cameroon: secretaries, computer technicians, cooks, translaters, drivers, communications experts, construction workers, etc.
Their offer included excellent pay (between €100 to €1000/day!), housing, health insurance, etc.
The candidates had to send them copies of their passport and sign the contract (with headers similar with the real companies) they sent by e-mail.
What tiped me off was:
- very high salaries;
- wide range of professions;
- use of free webmail services (Yahoo/Hotmail);
- Phone and fax numbers were cameroon mobile phones;
- and the fact that, after the candidate is "accepted", he has to pay the first 2 months of lodging. Only after this will the "candidate" receive his plane ticket. A real company, in such situation, always provides for acomodation.
Obviously, the scam is to get the hundreds of Euros (or Dollars) from the victim, after they get his identification, copy of documents, adress, phone, etc.

(Administrators/Moderators: As this is my first Post here, be free to move it a more conveniente location. And forget any mistakes I might have written) :-)
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 20 June 2012, 18:30
mysteryquest's Avatar
mysteryquest mysteryquest is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Languages:
Please post the email address, telephone number and any website the scammer was using.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 21 June 2012, 10:18
Miro Miro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Languages:
Aditional data

1 -
Company: The Arab Contractors – Osman Ahmed Osman & Co (on the headers of the documents) and "The Arab Contractors Cameroon Ltd" (on the footer)
Adress: 837, Rue de l’independence Immeuble Stamatiades, BP 11306 Yaonde, Cameroon
Contacts: Phone 23794897747 (wich is a mobile) and e-mail edge_contractors@yahoo.com
Accomodation provider: Limbe Guest House Ltd
Adress: 12 Avenue Doun Beach Limbe
Contacts: Phone 23798084633, fax 23798084632 (both mobiles) and e-mail info@limbeguesthouse.com
website: www.limbeguesthouse.com

2 -
Company: TRENCON
Recruiting officer: Albert Peters
Contacts: Phone 0023774931917 (this is a mobile), fax 0023733459876, e-mail trencon_recruiting_office@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 22 June 2012, 16:11
Mkholood2in Mkholood2in is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Languages:
Kake& Fake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miro View Post
1 -
Company: The Arab Contractors – Osman Ahmed Osman & Co (on the headers of the documents) and "The Arab Contractors Cameroon Ltd" (on the footer)
Adress: 837, Rue de l’independence Immeuble Stamatiades, BP 11306 Yaonde, Cameroon
Contacts: Phone 23794897747 (wich is a mobile) and e-mail edge_contractors@yahoo.com
Accomodation provider: Limbe Guest House Ltd
Adress: 12 Avenue Doun Beach Limbe
Contacts: Phone 23798084633, fax 23798084632 (both mobiles) and e-mail info@limbeguesthouse.com
website: www.limbeguesthouse.com

2 -
Company: TRENCON
Recruiting officer: Albert Peters
Contacts: Phone 0023774931917 (this is a mobile), fax 0023733459876, e-mail trencon_recruiting_office@yahoo.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I assure you that what you received is fake job.I base my assumption because of two reasons:
1- Arab Contractors Osman Ahmed Osman is one of the leading companies main office based in Eygept & have many offices in the arab world as well as word wide.Such Acompany does't contact persons for affording jobs.It might post it's need for aparticular job through mass media.And ordinarily persons
contact such acompany not the opposite.
2-The salary you thing for jobs at this com.will not touch the limits of 1000$
& this is based on where the job is being established.And I don't think this com.afford such salaries especially if this work locate in Cameroon where they can fill thousands of cheep workers there??
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 22 June 2012, 17:00
Miro Miro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Languages:
It's a job scam

I know its a scam, I knew it for the reasons I said in my first post:
"- very high salaries;
- wide range of professions;
- use of free webmail services (Yahoo/Hotmail);
- Phone and fax numbers were cameroon mobile phones;
- and the fact that, after the candidate is "accepted", he has to pay the first 2 months of lodging. Only after this will the "candidate" receive his plane ticket. A real company, in such situation, always provides for acomodation."

Some of the jobs they were advertising could be filled locally paying just a few hundred dollars.

I checked the real companies web pages and the phones and email are completely diferent. Besides, TRENCON only works in South Africa.

But the scammers post this job adverts in many websites where people can advert for free, and people who are unemployed might believe it and lose their (already) little money. And they do it in many different countries.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 14:25.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.