Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Announcements, Notices and Alerts > Fraud Alerts

Fraud Alerts Information relating to new, localized or focused scamming activities is posted in here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:12
John Fairheart
Guest
 
China Earthquake Donation Scam - parfumondo.com

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

It never takes long for scamming low-life scum to attempt to suck the marrow from hard working and caring individuals in attempts to line their own pockets.

After the mysery of a major disaster we commonly see scamming scum erecting donation scam sites, here is one that just popped into my spam catcher email account only a matter of a few minutes ago.

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

Here is the email send to me:-
Quote:


On Monday, May 12, at 2.28 p.m. Beijing time (6:28 GMT), a major earthquake, measuring 7.8 on the Richter scale, jolted southwestern China's Sichuan Province. Several lower-scale earthquakes and aftershocks followed in the same area. The quake destroyed many buildings in the area, as well as infrastructure like communication towers.

According to the latest reports, more than 30,000 people have died and many more have been injured or are reported missing. Many schools were destroyed, including one that had at least 900 students in it. As authorities reach more remote areas, these numbers are expected to rise.
You can help those affected by countless crises around the world each year by making a financial gift to the Parfumondo Response Fund, which will provide immediate relief and long-term support through supplies, technical assistance and other support to help those in need. Every dollar helps a soul.


(image link removed)
SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

This is what the website looks like at the moment:-


SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

But this is what it looked like before the disaster...


SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

Do not under any cicumstances send any donations to the parfumondo site, it will NOT help the victims of the Chinese Earthquake!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:24
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Header details indicate that the scam email is being sent out via an account at "pennyhost.com" rather than via the website account which is hosted on GoDaddy. This no doubt is an attempt to preserve the actual website from being shut down too quickly. There is also an indication that the spammer is using a Comcast internet connection to send out the email.

Header Information:
Return-Path: <contact@parfumondo.com>
X-Mail-from: contact@parfumondo.com
Received: from PH14 (ph14.pennyhost.com [216.250.231.83])
        by mx1.messagingengine.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id CE0F2285EE9
        for <snipped>; Sun, 18 May 2008 12:27:02 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from User [75.145.19.141] by PH14 with ESMTP
  (SMTPD-8.22) id A98D23868; Sun, 18 May 2008 12:30:05 -0400
From: "contact@parfumondo.com"<contact@parfumondo.com>
Subject: Parfumondo - Because even a dollar can make the world a better place
Date: Sun, 18 May 2008 09:19:36 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
        charset="Windows-1251"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 1
X-MSMail-Priority: High
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000
Message-Id: <200805181230656.SM01900@User>
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
(some lines snipped as they relate to my webmail account)
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:28
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Website hosting details:-

Quote:
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Dates: Created 26-oct-2007 Updated 26-oct-2007 Expires 26-oct-2008
DNS Servers: NS55.DOMAINCONTROL.COM NS56.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Quote:
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registration details are hidden by DomainsByProxy, but will no doubt be completely bogus anyway.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:52
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Comcast, GoDaddy, PennyHost and PayPal have all now been informed, nothing left to do but wait. Time for a beer.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 07:38.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.