Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam?

Is This a Scam? Unsure whether an offer is genuine? Ask questions here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13 July 2009, 22:37
hihobi hihobi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Timezone: GMT
Languages:
Is this forreal of is this a fraud/scam/exort

I recently got an email from a site I visited yesterday. I'll come right out and say it was an adult website, though, it is rather irrelevant to the situation.

This is the source of the problem:


I entered my e-mail and such, and Gained access to the mediocre website. This morning, I checked my email, and I got a message from a company called "United Payment Limited" Billing me for 69 Euros and it has to be payed within 7 days or some jargon like that. I am kinda freaking out at the moment, because I entered no credit information, but they have my e-mail and ip address. Am I really gonna have to pay this? I mean, I saw no charges or anything upon joining at all, and now they throw this at me.

Help me out?

-Thanks
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 13 July 2009, 22:38
hihobi hihobi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Timezone: GMT
Languages:
the website is vivis-homepage.com
please help me out
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 14 July 2009, 06:25
dodobird's Avatar
dodobird dodobird is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: La la land
Timezone: GMT
Languages:
Shady little thing...

Hello Hihobi,

Thank you for thinking of providing the web site name. I googled United Payment Limited and did find a bit on this scam, but mostly in French or German. I then visited the web page in question and actually had to look for the terms & conditions that you "agreed" to by submitting your email address.

Now, I'm not a lawyer, but sure would not worry about this "invoice". Firstly, the google search did show you're not the first to get caught with one of those sites and you can see for yourself by clicking here

Here are the points I would question;
  1. There is no way for them to prove that the information you entered is correct
  2. I finally got the terms and conditions by taking the chance to click where I THOUGHT they would show up, it's obvious that most people won't even see this information
  3. They do not advertise any form of fee on this page
  4. They have your IP; depending on where you are, chances are that your internet provider cannot divulge your identity because of confidentiality laws/rules
Finally, a quick search shows that this website went up on June 04, 2009 for one year only and is registered with an address in Germany. That would be quite a long way off, great costs and trouble for them to go and legally collect 69 Euros. A legitimate company would have asked for your credit card up front and shown you pricing in the same fashion.

Speaking of collecting, they have gone as far as to threaten legal action with others who were taken in just like you. They threatened this legal action in a UK court with a German company! They can't be serious!

Furthermore, allow me the pleasure of quoting this part of their terms and conditions, where they clearly state 59 Euros and not 69 Euros;

Quote:
§ 5 Prices and Payment Terms

A one-time fee of fifty-nine (59 EUR) including value-added tax (VAT) applies for the use
of our services.

The invoice total must be credited to the account as stated on the invoice no later than by
the seventh day following receipt of invoice. In case of intentional or negligent delay of
payment, the Service Provider is authorised to demand compensation from the Customer
for damages caused by such delay.

Unless otherwise indicated, all prices shown on the invoice are final prices and include
the applicable statutory VAT.
Once again, I repeat that I'm not a lawyer, but have yet to find real "terms & conditions" that will not specify jurisdiction of a specific location for legal action.

It is my personal opinion and advice that you block the sender of this email so as not to receive further emails from them and then, just delete their "invoice".

Good luck!
__________________
The beginning of wisdom is to call things by their right names
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 25 July 2009, 08:10
Tomfromgermany
Guest
 
United Payment Scam

hello from Germany...

of course the whole thing provides by United Payment Ltd. is a scam. Once you registered they only have your email and your (worthless) ip adress. Even inside germany the authorities won't get the owner of an ip. And outside germany... no chance. You will receive an invoice, a few threats and at last an email from a "so called" lawyer in germany. Thats it.

Look here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkrW7H9mjsY

Just laugh about this scam and never ever even think of paying!
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 18:12.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.