Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers

Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers Are you worried about buying or selling? Need to know about a company or a website before you buy? Ask here for advice.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 6 October 2008, 03:02
johnnyzq johnnyzq is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Timezone: GMT-8
Languages:
gizmograbber.com scam or not? Please.

I have been after some info about www.gizmograbber.com
This B2C site looks promising. Did anyone check it out?
The car video and mobile phone there seems good.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 6 October 2008, 09:05
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is online now
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Timezone: GMT+1
Languages:
It's just fake Chinese junk, they even say so. Quite expensive for fake stuff too, fake N95 usually costs around $400:
http://www.gizmograbber.com/ProductD...38&ClassID=240
The Verisign/BBBOnline seals etc... at the bottom of the page are also quite fake, real ones have links back to their respective websites. It's possible they deliver, but I wouldn't count on it.

They do take payments by credit cards which means you can at least do a chargeback if something goes wrong (but check with your CC company first). However, they seem to expect you to enter credit card details on an insecure page:
http://www.gizmograbber.com/payment.asp#creditcard
This is a bit insane, real companies normally use SSL in order to protect customer information, but they don't have any.
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"

Last edited by Daneel : 6 October 2008 at 09:35.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 6 October 2008, 17:53
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is online now
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Timezone: GMT+1
Languages:
Hmm... they also decided it was a good idea to spam our forum:
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/...ad.php?t=20799
Legitimate companies of course do not advertise by forum spamming.

Hmm again... johnnyzq here signed up with a Chinese IP even though he claims to be in the US, and used the email address shawns@vanaccess.com

Now compare:
http://www.gizmograbber.com/images/gizmo1.gif
http://vanaccess.com/uploadfile/Image/vanaccess42.jpg
Two signs, same people, same company. Both domains are registered to the same PO box in California. So I would guess this was just some stupid attempt to promote his own shady business by pretending to be a customer. Always a very bad idea on this website.

You're now banned. Obviously dealing with either of these companies would be a bad idea.
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"

Last edited by Daneel : 6 October 2008 at 18:05.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 6 October 2008, 18:21
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: .
Timezone: .
Languages:
They also own http://tigernetcom.com which redirects to vanaccess.com
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 6 October 2008, 18:46
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is online now
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Timezone: GMT+1
Languages:
They also spammed here:
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...ot-please.html
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...ble-phone.html
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...PfN0t3dVi5x4Mn
http://www.scamvictimsunited.com/php...hp?f=9&p=15822
http://resources.alibaba.com/topic/3...am_or_not_.htm

gizmograbber also has these domains:
http://astrohog.com/
http://www.ttdial.com/
http://www.cosmopig.com/
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"

Last edited by Daneel : 7 October 2008 at 17:49.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 6 October 2008, 18:48
John Fairheart
Guest
 
Nice cross posting Daneel. That'll really screw these scammers in the head, and hopefully the pocket too.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 6 October 2008, 19:26
FW Admin's Avatar
FW Admin FW Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The North Americas
Timezone: GMT-5
Languages:
... also users xiazandong and william111 - thanks to these intrepid scammers and spammers who are hell bent on destroying the internet for China, another 131,000 IP numbers are banned from that country.
__________________
Please Help to Support FraudWatchers dot Org!

If we have helped you in any way, you can help us by buying some FraudWatchers merchandise here.

If you wish to make a financial donation, please PM me (FW Admin) upon receipt of which the appropriate payment details can be given.

Reply With Quote To the Top
  #8  
Old 6 October 2008, 21:17
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: .
Timezone: .
Languages:
cosmopig.com ? how revealing!
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #9  
Old 7 October 2008, 18:35
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is online now
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sweden
Timezone: GMT+1
Languages:
Johnny really is not having much luck with his spamming on other forums either: http://forums.steves-digicams.com/fo...jump_to=929594
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 14:51.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.