Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Announcements, Notices and Alerts > Fraud Alerts

Fraud Alerts Information relating to new, localized or focused scamming activities is posted in here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 January 2007, 02:43
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
Hariri Finance LLC

We've recently received a contact form about an apparent scammer posing as "Hariri Finance LLC", a UK company that offers to invest in businesses. In return for their "investment", they request that you pay a non-refundable deposit to get the ball rolling. Hariri Finance appears to be nothing but a scam.

Their supposed website, http://www.haririfinance.com/ , has no accessible web content, yet they do give email addresses with this domain. This post on help.com is exceedingly vague. http://help.com/post/36238-hariri-finance-llc The number given on the post is a personal forwarding number, which appears to be in the UK, but can be forwarded to any phone in the world. Scammers love these numbers. The same posting is randomly spammed in other places on the same forum. http://help.com/post/1247-i-need-hel...omeone-to-inve

For that matter, they seem to have randomly spammed a great many forums with their "ad". That is not normal behavior for a legitimate company.

This forum post indicates they have been traced back to Nigerian connections.

http://www.gobignetwork.com/forums/V...hreadID=105072

The domain registration information backs up the fact that it is a scam.

Updated Date: 18-dec-2006
Creation Date: 14-dec-2006
Expiration Date: 14-dec-2007

Registrant:
Cocodia, Victor
iduehi layout ddpa
effurun, Delta State 2345
NG

Domain Name: HARIRIFINANCE.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Cocodia, Victor victorcocodia@yahoo.com
iduehi layout ddpa
effurun, Delta State 2345
NG
08029565533

The IP for the domain traces to 211.111.111.11, which appears to be a Korean webhost. Obviously, registering a website with a Nigerian tech contact and hosting an email only domain on a Korean webhost is not normal behavior for a major UK company, either. I suspect the only true statement by Hariri Finance is that your deposit will be non-refundable. Scammers don't usually give refunds.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:02
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
Registration details now read as follows:

Registrant:
Raymond, Jerry (WQFIMHAQQD)
4, Templmead House
Homerton, London E9 5QT
UK

Domain Name: HARIRIFINANCE.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
Raymond, Jerry (41356312P) stevegonzalez01@yahoo.com
4, Templmead House
Homerton, London E9 5QT
UK
442074649373


Needless to say, simply pulling a fake name, a non-matching free, anonymous Yahoo account, and UK address and phone number there doesn't make it any more trustworthy.

Domain registration information is not checked, and the site is still hosted in Korea.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 07:33.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.