Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam?

Is This a Scam? Unsure whether an offer is genuine? Ask questions here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 1 May 2012, 23:26
atthereceivingend atthereceivingend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Languages:
Help, this looks suspicious

This looks suspicious. Although I do conduct business in South Africa and do expect a wire, this seems odd: the address shown on the letter which was attached to the email is actually in KY, not NY state in the United States (using the Zip code on the letter for an address search shows this), and at the address in KY, a company with the same name as in the email does exist, but appears to be a mailing company and they do not seem to be related. From doing a little research, it seems that the web page is an almost identical copy of a company's UK web page, but with a different domain: www.clearing-house.net/ being the UK web page and www.intclearinghouse.us.tc/ being the one that has approached me. This is really worrisome, as they have a lot of the relevant information about me and my business. Any thoughts?

The email I received with its attachment are shown below:


The American International Clearing House
2201 Plant side Drive, Louisville, NY 40299
United States of America,
Tel: 00(1) 646-452-9457
Fax: 00(1) 646-786-4950
Website: www.intclearinghouse.us.tc
Email: intclearinghouse@americamail.com

To: Mr.

Date: April 2012.
Sir,

Your total funds of US$ x,500,000.00 (xx Million Five Hundred Thousand United States Dollars) only has arrived today from South Africa for final credit into your bank account, open below attached letter.

Thank You,

Mr. Rick Leander.
Head, International Clearing House
USA.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
--- Disclaimer --- The information in this mail is confidential and is intended solely for addressee. Access to this mail by anyone else is unauthorized. Copying or further distribution beyond the original recipient may be unlawful. Any opinion expressed in this mail is that of sender and does not necessarily reflect that of American Clearance House group. ---
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++++++

Attached Letter Reads:

The American International Clearing House 2201 Plant Side Drive, Louisville, NY 40299 USA E-mail: intclearinghouse@americamail.com Website: www.intclearinghouse.us.tc Tel: (646) 452 9457 Fax: (646) 786 4950
RE-BENEFICIARY OF US$xx, 500,000.00(xx MILLION FIVE HUNDRED THOUSAND UNITED STATES DOLLARS) ONLY RECEIVED TODAY FROM DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE SOUTH AFRICA.
TO: _________ (BENEFICIARY) ___________ U.S.A FUNDS VERIFICATION CODE (xxxxx)
SIR,
DATE: 25-04-2012
IN RESPECT TO THE ABOVE MENTIONED AMOUNT WE RECEIVED TODAY WHICH WAS BEEN TRANSFERRED FROM DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE SOUTH AFRICA. THE AMOUNT IS CURRENTLY BEEN HELD WITH US FOR VERIFICATION AND CLEARANCE.
IN LINE WITH OUR SECURITY MEASURES AND ALLIED ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS, YOUR FUNDS HAS BEEN INVESTIGATED BY THE BOARD AND YOU ARE TO PRESENT TO US THE ANTI-TERRORIST AND MONEY LAUNDERY CLEARANCE CERTIFICATE FROM SOUTH AFRICA THE FUNDS ORIGIN BEFORE WE CAN FINALLY CREDIT YOUR FUNDS INTO YOUR BANK ACCOUNT.
THE AMERICAN CLEARING HOUSE CONTROLS ALL THE INTERNATIONAL CURRENCIES AND AS WELL AS ALL THE MONETORY TRANSACTIONS. KINDLY INFORM US AS SOON AS YOU HAVE THE TWO FUNDS CLEARANCE CERTIFICATES FROM SOUTH AFRICA. TO CONFIRM YOUR FUNDS WITH US, GO TO OUR WEBSITE (www.intclearinghouse.us.tc ) CLICK LOGIN AND TYPE THIS BELOW VERIFICATION CODE # (xxxxx). WE CAN AS WELL ASSIST YOU TO GET THE CLEARANCE CERTIFICATES THROUGH OUR AFFILIATE OFFICE IN SOUTH AFRICA.
THANK YOU,
MR. RICK LEANDER. HEAD: AMERICAN CLEARING HOUSE.
Directors/Direkteure: R. Leander (Chairman/Voorsitter) M. W. King. (Vice Chairman/voorsitter) V. W. Bartlett (Managing Director/Bestuurderde Direkteur) J A Barrow, Ruth Andrews, D. G. K. Fish, E. P. Gush, Prof K Jowell, M. E. King, H. C. John, E. Molobi, M. C. Ramaphosa, R. B. Savage, P. M. Searle, Hon. Ed J. H. Steyn PCH ThompsonA. S. Vaned, L. S. van Zyl, R.A. Williams, P. G. A. Wrignton
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 2 May 2012, 01:59
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
"ANTI-TERRORIST AND MONEY LAUNDERY CLEARANCE CERTIFICATE" = keywords for advance fee frauds.

www.intclearinghouse.us.tc is a fake web site, "us.tc" is a free re-directional URL used to hide the real address, the site is actually located at http://aich.leadhoster.com/home.html
you can get an 866 tool free number over the Internet for $10 a month. americamail.com is a free service. Free = anonymous.

It's just another advance fee fraud. All such Internet offers of large sums of money from strangers are scams, and this one is no different. If you pay their advance fees, they'll only come back with request for yet more fees. Just send to trash and cut off all communications because they'll continue to contact you as long as they think they can scam you.

as for clearing-house.net it shows an unvalidated Verisign logo and that's a red flag.

Last edited by poirot : 2 May 2012 at 02:08.
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 21:38.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.