Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam?

Is This a Scam? Unsure whether an offer is genuine? Ask questions here.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 25 April 2012, 14:10
TES
Guest
 
Oops golfcheaperclubs.com

Posting this here because I'm a newbie on the 'I've been scammed train' -- even though I'm almost certain this website/operation is totally illegitimate. If your tools verify it's a scam, please add it to your list of Chinese scam sites.

Thanks,
Tim from Mississippi

***************************
This just happened last week.

I had been searching the net for the best deal on a set of irons (new or late model used). I'm a long-time golfer so I am pretty familiar with the product offerings. I had already demo'd clubs from a local retail shop, and narrowed it down to two particular models. The web search was about a week old with hits pretty much dominated by ebay, when suddenly on a Sunday, I landed on this one (golfcheaperclubs.com).

Of course, it sounded too good to be true, the offering basically for a brand new current year model set for about half price -- up to that point the best deal I had found was last year's model for this same price. This was a HUGE red flag, and there were other minor questionable things about the website, but my lust for the latest greatest at half price proved too much. I emailed the website right away, and asked them directly: "Are you legitimate? Is this a legitimate offering? It's half the best price I found for last year's model!"

Selina replied promptly, reassuring me everything was fine -- that this was a weekend special, yada yada yada... And I just dropped straight into sucker mode -- and placed the order via bank card. Delivery was estimated for today, but ever since the day I got the order confirmation email and discovered the tracking tool on the website didn't work, I've been emailing them for a tracking number and carrier URL. They haven't given me that yet, offering excuses -- the latest of which is that the EMC (express mail carrier) informed them that they "broke the club", so they are having it returned. But hey, No Worries! They've already shipped my replacement, which should arrive in 3-5 days. Right.....

Anyway, I just wanted to post here to warn any other potential golf weaklings. Here is the domain info I found after the fact, which includes a totally bogus address and phone number:

Registrant:
Jina Kim
2443 Palazzo Ct.
Kettering, CA 90001
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, LLC (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GOLFCHEAPERCLUBS.COM
Created on: 16-Mar-12
Expires on: 16-Mar-13
Last Updated on: 16-Mar-12

Administrative Contact:
Kim, Jina hjinna86@gmail.com
2443 Palazzo Ct.
Kettering, CA 90001
United States
+1.8615213166

Technical Contact:
Kim, Jina hjinna86@gmail.com
2443 Palazzo Ct.
Kettering, CA 90001
United States
+1.8615213166

Domain servers in listed order:
NS61.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS62.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

Registry Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Status: clientRenewProhibited
Registry Status: clientTransferProhibited
Registry Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 25 April 2012, 17:04
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
Your assessment seems accurate.
Quote:
golfcheaperclubs.com
Administrative Contact:
Kim, Jina hjinna86@gmail.com
2443 Palazzo Ct.
Kettering, CA 90001
United States
+1.8615213166
The phone number is fake (no such area code) The address also appears fake and was apparently used in the initial registration of another seller of counterfeit golf club GOLFSALES365.COM

golfcheaperclubs.com doesn't accept credit card payment as claimed, it's done through credit-pay.com, a Chinese payment system who's domain was registered in 2010. It belongs to yourspay.com - Here are complaints against yourspay.com http://www.webutation.net/go/review/....yourspay.com#

There are a number of Chinese payment systems that cater to scammers selling counterfeit goods. There's no way in my opinion that a legitimate U.S. company selling authentic brand golf club would use yourspay.com as their payment system, this looks like just another seller of counterfeit
http://golfcheaperclubs.com/golf-art...guarantee.html
Quote:
Golfcheaperclubs.com guarantees that our products will be of the highest quality available directly from original factory with serial numbers, made of high grade materials, and play with high performance. We work side by side with accredited and licensed OEM manufacturer to produce the high-performance golf heads & shafts and golf accessories.
That's double-talk for "We sell counterfeit goods" and the fact that they show brand name golf clubs complete with corporate logos, this make golfcheaperclubs.com a fraud. Counterfeit scammers sometimes ship what is often a cheap useless product, and sometimes they ship nothing. Either way, you will have been scammed.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 25 April 2012, 17:20
TES
Guest
 
Thanks, Poirot...
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 25 April 2012, 23:13
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
All FRAUDS
buycheap365.com
cheapgolf4u.com
cheapgolfequipments.com
clubgolfsale.com
Dealgolfonline.com
discount-golf-gifts.com
discountgolfnet.com
discountgolfware.com
eastgolfshop.com
enjoyskyer.com
Globalgolfus.com
gogogolfmart.com
gogolftown.com
golf18wholesale.com
golfcheapclubs.co.uk
golfcheapclubs.com
golfclubs24.com
golfclubs4sales.com
golfdiscount18.com
Golfdiscount4sale.com
golfdiscountoutlets.com
golffactorystores.com
golffastbuy.com
Golfonlinehotsale..com
Golforderstore.com
golfoutletsuk.com
golfplayer118.com
golfplayeroutlets.com
Golfsale.biz
golfsetstore.com
golfshoppingshop.com
Greengolfmall.com
Havegolfclubs.com
igolfforsale.com
igolfyoo.com
mycheapgolf.com
newgolfshopclubs.com
Progolfclubsshop.com
Salegolfsets.com
Securitykitstore.com
shake-golf.com
ukgolfmall.com
westoreshop.com
wholesalegolfprice.com
worldgolfsale.com
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 20:30.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.