PDA

View Full Version : Does this bank really exist?


pascal01
26 June 2007, 20:08
Hi, i had a loan proposition, it all seems to be honnest, but now that we are almost at the funds transfer, they ask me to open an account at www.ecobank.com
and i will get my money in my account there, to transfer it here in canada, but i was asking myself is this bank real?
i browsed the site, seems to be legit, but i'm asking myself if this is real

thanks!

FW Admin
26 June 2007, 21:32
Without seeing the contents of the correspondence you've had, it is difficult to say; however, consider the following:

a) was this a loan initiated via email?
b) were the emails you received from yahoo or other free webmail accounts?
c) is this a loan that allegedly transfers across international borders?
d) were you asked to pay any "charges" or "fees" in order to effect this loan?
e) were the interest rates quoted ridiculously low, or substantially lower than current nationally based loans?

If the answers to 2 or more of the above are 'yes' then it's a certain scam.

If you'd like to post more info or you can send the emails (as attachments, so that original header information is retained) to: scamqueries@fraudwatchers.org and we can look at it in detail.

Frazzle
27 June 2007, 01:04
www.ecobank.com appears to be legitimate.

However, the loan and so on may have been offered by a scammer posing as them.

I suggest that you use the "Contact Us" page on the web site (NOT any phone number or email address received by email) to contact the bank and ask them about it.