PDA

View Full Version : Is This a Scam?


dschelle
17 May 2007, 17:00
I AM A LOAN LENDER I GIVE OUT LOAN TO PEOPLE IN NEED FOR LOAN GET IT

Hello,

I am in receipt of your email. I will be able to offer you the loan up to $100,000.00 I have stated the terms of the loan below for you to see and tell me if you are in agreement with the loan terms or not.

*Loan Amount:$...............
*Loan Rate :5%
*Duration:...............
*Loan Interest:$..............
*Monthly Payment:$...............
*Total Payment:$...............

BORROWERS INFORMATION
Your names ................................
Your country................................
Your address ..............................
Your occupation ..........................
Your marital status ......................
Current Status at place of work.........
Phone number..............................
Monthly Income...............................

2. Transfer Of Your Loan:
Bank to Bank Transfer : The transfer of the loan must be a bank to bank transfer, except otherwise stated by the borrower which means, you will have to provide the means which you want your loan transfer to you.

3. Loan agreement document:The Loan agreement document need to be signed to trust someguarantee of you to me that i can trust you. Remember that is a large some o amount which is needed by you. if you are in need agreement to the loan terms you are to contact the company's lawyer Via e-mail barr.elizabeth@lawyer.com

4. Loan refund:The loan must refunded back to the lender at the end of the tenure the loan seeker is seeking the loan for without any delay.for this reason, for this reason,we are giving a maximum duration of 60 months to the loan seeker so that he /she will be able to repay the loan within that period.
Considering the above conditions if they are acceptable to you,you have to give me a fast response so that i can assign my lawyer to send you the loan agreement document , so that i can start processing your loan.

Kings Regards

Mrs.Tina Washington

FW Admin
17 May 2007, 17:51
Without the header information of the original email, it doesn't give me much to work with; however, just from the text of your post, I would say a definite 100% scam. The "lawyer" email address is lawyer.com - a free, anonymous webmail service that anyone can sign up for without giving their real details.

I would say this could turn out to be an "Advance Fee Fraud" where, in order to "finalize" the loan, various fees will be demanded (sent by Western Union or Moneygram of course), each one bigger than the last in a never ending cycle.

And at the end of it, there is no loan; only the thief who has stolen all the victim's money in imaginary fees and charges.

dschelle
17 May 2007, 19:46
I am new to all this deceit on the Internet and wanted to know how do you know if the loan is a real loan or not. Is there any particular way of knowing, if a loan is for real unless fill out the forms.

I look around but I've never fill out a form, so I guess I don't know what you consider advance fees.

for example here an another e-mail that I received:

Subject: Online Application Form.

Grays Financial Services (193301)
Unit 3A Avonside Enterprise Park
New Broughton Road
Wiltshire SN12 8BT
Ph: +447045718178
Fax:+447005803043
Alt: +447024068627

Dear XXXXX,

Thanks for contacting Grays Financial Services.We offer a whole range of flexible Loan programmes that help you meet your financial needs irrespective of your financial status.In otherwords,you credit ratings does not precludes you from qualifying as we have a whole range of products for you. Yes we can help you.

At a very fast rate we can conclude transaction within 5-11 working days cutting out every bereaucratic bottlenecks associated with conventional methods of lending.

Our rate are low and we also provide free financial advice when specifically requested.

We also provide 'grace period for auto,housing,study loans,etc.That way you will be able to plan your repayment methods that best suites you.
Click here (http://www.graysfinancialservice.com/Application.html) for Online Application

Always at your service,

David Seibert

Executive Officer/Communication Director,
Grays Financial Services (193301)
Unit 3A Avonside Enterprise Park
New Broughton Road
Wiltshire SN12 8BT
Ph: +447045718178
Fax:+447005803043
Alt: +447024068627

Frazzle
17 May 2007, 22:51
I am new to all this deceit on the Internet and wanted to know how do you know if the loan is a real loan or not. Is there any particular way of knowing, if a loan is for real unless fill out the forms.


A rule of thumb... If someone contacts you, they are aiming to make money from you. If someone is offering a good deal, they will advertise it and customers will find them.

There's a simple email checklist here (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/checker/) -- it estimates the chances that an email you received is legitimate or not. From the small amount of information you've give, it appears to be about 1 in 15 -- if you receive 15 emails like that, then 14 will be scams and 1 will be real.

I tried a Google for 'Grays Financial Services, melksham, wiltshire, sn12 8bt' -- the first hit was the web site you gave, the second was the UK Financial Services Authority Register, which lists that company on http://www.fsa.gov.uk/register/firmBasicDetails.do?sid=48210. That page gives their contact number as +44 01225 702 588 which is quite different from the numbers you gave.

The numbers you gave are in fact 'personal' or 'follow-me' numbers which can redirect to any phone, anywhere in the world. This is typical of scammers.

My guess is that this is a scammer impersonating a real British company. I suggest that you ring them at +44 01225 702 588 and ask them about it.


I look around but I've never fill out a form, so I guess I don't know what you consider advance fees.


Advance fees are fees to be paid in advance of some transaction. No real loan company would do that -- they would normally be only too happy to add the fees to the total principal. Scammers promise easy money, but some small (relative to the payout) fees have to be paid first. If the first fee is paid, another is invented. And another, and another. Of course, the promised money never materialises.

I would also caution you that if you don't live in the UK, borrowing money from there is risky -- if your own currency's value drops against the GBP, both your interest and your principal repayments would go up.

FW Admin
18 May 2007, 03:11
The WHOIS information on the domain name you posted is:
Domain Name.......... graysfinancialservice.com
Creation Date........ 2007-04-27
Registration Date.... 2007-04-27
Expiry Date.......... 2017-04-27
Organisation Name.... PANISA CHAIKANARAKKUL
Organisation Address. 1530 BEACON STREET APT#901
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. BROOKLINE
Organisation Address. 02446
Organisation Address. MA
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... PANISA CHAIKANARAKKUL
Admin Address........ 1530 BEACON STREET APT#901
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ BROOKLINE
Admin Address........ 02446
Admin Address........ MA
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... graysfinancialservice@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.8574138988
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
A Yahoo personal domain service, it's registered for 10 years...

However, there are a number of red flags that surround it. For instance, why should a company that is based in the UK have an Administrator with a USA address and contact number, and a yahoo.com email address? The Organization name also doesn't ring true, being the name of the individual who administers it. Businesses usually give theri full registered office details within the Organizational heading.

Additionally, the website itself... very unprofessional and, to be honest, put together "quickly".

A search of "Grays Financial Service" produces several advertisements on continental and international based sites, such as expatroates.com and boston.craigslist.com advertising loans and partnerships; UK law for extending loans and financial services outside of the UK is strictly regulated.

I would say that I am 100% convinced that this website is a total scam, even though it goes against the grain of the usual scammer trait of registering domains for the shortest possible time. It is likely in this case that the scammer has paid for the extended registration using stolen or fake credit card information which, when queried and brought to Yahoo's attention, will quickly shut down the site.