View Full Version : Checking addresses
Frazzle
6 April 2007, 23:22
http://maps.google.com/
This knows about street names and numbers in the USA, and some other countries. You can zoom in and then switch to Satellite view to see what the building looks like.
If you've been given a false address, you can be sure that the rest is a scam too.
However, even if the address is real, that doesn't guarantee that the rest of the email or letter isn't a scam. Scammers will sometimes give you someone else's real address.
nutty
16 February 2008, 08:36
hi,
I agree.I had the address seem ok, but the phone number and the name were borrowed from other people:(
h3ali
20 February 2008, 05:29
hii,but in some places they use same adresses where they live.
daphne
29 March 2008, 22:14
I tried looking up this address:
http://www.alibaba.com/company/100071935.html
Why does google not recogize Jaipur Rajasthan India?
John Fairheart
29 March 2008, 22:23
Jaipur Rajasthan works fine for me on Google maps. Does not go down to Amer Road level.
Frazzle
29 March 2008, 23:22
I tried looking up this address:
http://www.alibaba.com/company/100071935.html
Why does google not recogize Jaipur Rajasthan India?
Some places, Google Maps only includes the main roads.
A Google search for "amer rd, jaipur. india" gets several hits which look legit, so I'd say the street does exist.
A Google for "Antiquariat, jaipur" gets several hits, so I'd guess that the company does exist.
However, I'd also say that "Sarraf Group" is a different entity. Firstly, here's their domain registration. Note that it is recent, and only for the minimum period of one year. Noite also that no real contact information is provided. This is not typical of real businesses, but it is very typical of scammers.
Domain Name: SARRAFGROUP.COM
Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT LTD D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM
Whois Server: whois.PublicDomainRegistry.com
Referral URL: http://www.PublicDomainRegistry.com
Name Server: SCORPIO1.HOSTRIGHTNOW.COM
Name Server: SCORPIO2.HOSTRIGHTNOW.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 29-oct-2007
Creation Date: 30-aug-2007
Expiration Date: 30-aug-2008
>>> Last update of whois database: Sat, 29 Mar 2008 22:14:35 UTC <<<
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.Registration Service Provided By: HOSTRIGHTNOW
Contact: +91.1412601319
Domain Name: SARRAFGROUP.COM
Registrant:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Creation Date: 30-Aug-2007
Expiration Date: 30-Aug-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
scorpio2.hostrightnow.com
scorpio1.hostrightnow.com
Administrative Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Technical Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Billing Contact:
PrivacyProtect.org
Domain Admin (contact@privacyprotect.org)
P.O. Box 97
All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Moergestel
null,5066 ZH
NL
Tel. +45.36946676
Note that the Contact Us page at sarrafgroup.com is blank.
alina s
18 March 2009, 11:35
www.southeastlocaljobs.co.uk ,
www.peoplesearch.fr
www.theofficejob.com
support@tiptopjob.com
monster@route.monster.com
http://my.monster.co.uk
I want some informations...:(
Thank you!
alina s, those sites are all, as far as I can tell, legitimate job posting sites, but you need to be aware that even legitimate job posting sites may have scammers using them, particularly the free ones.
Employment scams may take many forms. You may be asked to pay a fee of some sort to get a supposedly fantastic job in another country. Sometimes they claim this is a "deposit" or "insurance" fee. Or you may be asked to pay for a visa, or to cash checks "on behalf of" a company, or to pay a fee to join a program.
In short, any "employer" that asks you to pay a fee, of any kind, is likely to be a scammer. If you're being offered a job you're obviously not qualified for, or a "commission only" opportunity, or a "payment processing" job, or are offered a job without an interview of some sort,that would be a red flag. Be sure you check out any job postings directly with the company. For example, if you see an ad for a job a company, find the company website and check to see if they post job listings there or a contact for their Human Resources department. Contact them directly to confirm the job opening.
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.