PDA

View Full Version : reporting about a mail from a stranger


Unregistered
13 December 2005, 13:37
i received a mail from a person on 10th decembernamed as Dr.Frank gardner that he is the fiduciary claim agent for Global international lottery Inc.The first day i.e on 10th i received a mail stated that i won a prize money of $1000000 and also they mentioned the Batch number,Ticket number and winning lotto number.On 11th of decmeber 2005 the person again send me a mail that my prize money is been verified and authorised.Then on 12th december they send me a scan copy of that lottery agents Certificate included by my name and country of resident and also denotes it valids for 1 year.also they send me a news letter and a copy of cheque.i don't know what to do next.they asked me on the first day my mailing address and phone number.
the claim agents mail id is claimagent@globalinternationalworld.com
tel number+447031942124.

Trainmaster
13 December 2005, 13:53
Hi there,

You should stop communicating with them, as this is a scam and the money that they say you have won does not exist. If you have given them your telephone number to them, they may attempt to call you. If this does happen, either ignore it or tell them that they have reached a wrong number. Soon they will realize that you will not become a victim of their scam and give up on you.

Also, the email address for the lottery, while it appears legitimate, is a special email address known as a MSN Personal Domain - most likely it was purchased with a stolen credit card using false details. This is a common tactic the scammers use to attempt to trick potential victims into thinking that they are real.

Finally, the telephone number you provided for them is a UK number, it's a number known as a "personal" or "follow-me" phone number - it can be redirected to any point in the world; most likely Nigeria or another country in West Africa.

Thanks for asking; if you have any more questions feel free to ask :)

Rob
13 December 2005, 14:37
also, keep in mind that you can't win in a lottery that you've never entered.

FW Admin
13 December 2005, 14:38
Further to this, if you can post the email that was sent to you giving the email address claimagent@globalinternationalworld.com or email it to http://fraudwatchers.org/imsem/em_inform.png we can see about getting this particular domain closed down for fraudulent use. We can assure you that any legitimate agencies that have any involvement with legitimate companies do not use MSN 'personalised' domains, but always use those that have been registered with a domain registrar and for a longer period of time than one year.

The whois lookup on that domain gives the following details:
Domain Name: GLOBALINTERNATIONALWORLD.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: PDOMNS1.MSN.COM
Name Server: PDOMNS2.MSN.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 24-jun-2005
Creation Date: 24-jun-2005
Expiration Date: 24-jun-2006In addition, the details of the registrar are given as follows:
Domain Name.......... globalinternationalworld.com
Creation Date........ 2005-06-24
Registration Date.... 2005-06-24
Expiry Date.......... 2006-06-24
Organisation Name.... Legalpaymentdepartment Global International Lottery Inc
Organisation Address. 4089 Linda dr
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Rock hill
Organisation Address. 29730
Organisation Address. SC
Organisation Address. UNITED STATESwhereas that address (which in fact is Linda Road and not Linda Drive) actually belongs to a garage and car dealership:

Affordable Nissan Repairs
4089 Linda Rd, Rock Hill, SC 29730-7019
803-(removed for privacy reasons)As you can clearly see, this is a fraudulent attempt at registration of a domain name and a tactic that is commonly used by scammers in their endeavours.

anastasiades
9 May 2007, 10:38
Just got this email. What should I do? I told them I wanted to colelct the cheque personally. Silly me. I have not sent money. But I am worried as I sent them my home address and telephone number. My email address is (removed by moderator).

What a fool I have been. How can these people be allowed to get away with it? Has anyone called the quoted number?

Tassos


RE: FINAL RELEASE PROCEDURES‎
From: MailPost Courier (mailpostcouriersltd@yahoo.co.uk)
Sent: Wednesday, May 09, 2007 10:22:05 AM
To: Tassos Anastasiades (xxxxxx)

MAILPOST COURIER SERVICE LTD.
Head Office:Mailpost House,Courier Avenue,Manchester.
Wythenshawe,M23 0WS,
Tel:+44-( 701) 113 7127

Date :09-05-2007
Order Numbers:#952368
Attention : xxxxxx,

How are you doing? I am writing to inform you that you will have to send to us a scan copy of either your international passport or your driver's lincence so that we can be able to identify you at the airport, like i said before just send your flight details so that we can be able to pick you up personally.

We await your positive response.

Yours Sincerely
Mr Sammy Woodard .
(DISPATCH OFFICER)
MAILPOST COURIER SERVICE.

TEL:+44-( 701) 113 7127
FAX:+44-( 701) 113 7127


MAILPOST COURIER SERVICES


This email (including attachments) is covered by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, 18 U.S.C. 2521 and is confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any retention, dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. This email (including attachments) is intended for the use of the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you have received this communication in error, please immediately notify the sender by return email and delete this email from your system.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yahoo! Mail is the world's favourite email. Don't settle for less, sign up

Daneel
9 May 2007, 15:18
I removed your email address for privacy reasons, this forum is public so even scammers and spammers can see it.

I would recommend you to cease all contact with them, just tell them you are no longer interested, then do not respond to their emails and simply hang up if they try to call you. If you do receive a cheque, it will be fake. Whatever you do, do not attempt to cash it and you will be fine. You can try turning it in to the police, or if they will not take it then you should destroy it.

They are unlikely to do anything with your address or phone number. If you receive any threats, legal or otherwise, this is most likely just an attempt at intimidation, telling them you have contacted the police should put a stop to it. If you believe they are serious, then you really should take it up with the police.