PDA

View Full Version : This looks like another fake lottery


Unregistered
5 December 2005, 18:27
Dear Sir/Madam,
This is to acknowledge the receipt of your email sent
and acting on the instructions in your claims file
with Reference number REF: RGUK /05/QE321. And
International Lottery Code Number: RG/ 004-1, I wish to inform
you that payment of your Claims Amounting to £ 3,500,000
being prize money from ROYAL GAMES UK from the second category draws has been certified by all authorities involved.
Be informed that instruments of payment for the sum of £ 3,500,000 to you, is already in our possession and shall be acted upon on meeting
the requirements stated below.You are required to provide the information below with all necessary details. Afterwards, kindly send it back to us either by fax on +44-87-0912-4006 or as an E-mail.
1.Reference number and International lottery code number.
2. Name:
3.Address:
4.Marital Status:
5.Occupation:
6.Age:
7.Sex:
8.Nationality:
9.Country Of Residence:
10.BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF COMPANY/ INDIVIDUAL
11.Telephone Number:
12.Fax Number:
13.Email:
14.ACCOUNT COORDINATES (Details of the account where
you want your funds transferred):
15.If you want your winnings sent by cheque provide
the NAME and FULL MAILING ADDRESS.Note that no. 14 and no.15
is on how you want to receive your winning prize; they are optional you have to choose one of them, when sending back the
information. With this information's your Certificates
of prize claim and all other relevant documents can be prepared for you by ourlegal department within the next 48hr.Your winning prize will be sent by check via Courier service to the
information provided in no. 15 or transferred to your
account details provided in no. 14 and vital documents
will be sent via courier service to your information
provided in no.3 Upon the receipt of this information you will be
contacted immediately by our legal department instruction
regards to the vital documents and for the immediate transfer of your winning prize.
Congratulations once more, I shall be awaiting the
information's so that l can forward it immediately
to our legal department.
Best regards,
Rev.Dr.John foster
Foreign department manager
Trans World Security United kingdom
186-East mall
Stratford shopping centre
Stratford, greater London. United kingdom.
Fax: +44-87-0912-4006
Tell:+44-7031964446
Tell:+44-7031957982
E-mail: johnfoster_t.wuk@1mail.net
E-mail: foredeptwsuk@myway.com
E-mail: Johnfoster_twsuk@excite.com
NB: For further information about ROYAL GAMES UK, feel free to
contact them directly via phone;
Mr.Chou Henry Cole
The coordinator,
Royal Games United Kingdom.
Greater London, Stratford 8151xq
United Kingdom.
Tell: +44-70-3195-5207
Fax: +44-87-0912-3071
Also note that you are to forward your Reference number and International lottery code number in any one of your correspondence. , also we request that you keep the entire details of Your award strictly from public notice until the Process of transferring your claims has been completed, and your funds remitted to

John Fairheart
5 December 2005, 18:34
Hi,

Thanks for posting. You are 100% correct, the letter is indeed a typical Fake Lottery scam.

A quick Google Search of some of the reference numbers usually gives these away very quickly:-

"RGUK /05/QE321" (http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=%22RGUK+%2F05%2FQE321%22)
"Stratford 8151xq" (http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=%22Stratford+8151xq%22)

Trainmaster
5 December 2005, 18:45
Hi there,

Yes, that is another false lottery. Some important points to notice are that:
A search for "ROYAL GAMES UK" on Google shows only webpages highlighting that lottery as part of a scam. Click here to see the results. (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=%22ROYAL+GAMES+UK%22&btnG=Google+Search)
The telephone numbers that they provide, even though they are valid UK phone numbers, are special phone numbers known as "personal numbers." These numbers can be redirected to any point in the world. It is highly unlikely that these people are in the United Kingdom.
The e-mail addresses they request you contact them on are all from free providers. If this were a real lottery, they would not be using email addresses from free providers.In fact, one of the telephone numbers listed (+447031955207) has appeared in 9 separate scam emails (http://urgentmessage.org/highlyconfidential/_p447031955207.html) received at urgentmessage.org

Also, the e-mail address johnfoster_twsuk@excite.com has appeared in 8 separate scam mails (http://urgentmessage.org/highlyconfidential/_a?filter=johnfoster_twsuk@excite.com) on urgentmessage.org. It appears that, based on the information available there, these scammers are actually based in Bénin, and not the UK as they claim to be.

SAGAR
17 December 2005, 06:40
HELLO SIR,
MY NAME IS MR SAGAR CHOUDHARI, I AM FROM INDIA ,SIR I HAD RECEIVED MAIL FROM LOTTO INTERNATIONAL UK,THEY ARE SAY'S ME THAT I WON ONE MILLION GREAT BRATAIN POUNDS, SO SIR THEY SEND ME SOME FORMS TO FILLED BY ME I GAVE THEM FILLING FORM NOW THEY ARE ASKING FOR 250 POUNDS AS A COURIOR CHARGES ,SIR IN INDIAN CURRENCY IT GOES UPTO 20,000 THOUSAND RUPEES AND SIR I AM A STUDENT FROM 15 DAYS I HAVE WORKED IN COAL MINE FOR COLLECTING THESE MONEY AND FOR SEND TO THEM AS A COURIOR CHARGES FEES SO SIR I WILL GIVE YOU THERE ADDRESS WHICH THEY HAD MENTION SO SIR PLEASE CO-OPERATE ME AND PLEASE LET ME KNOW IS IT FRAUD OR I REALLY WON THESE AMOUNT .I AM A POOR STUDENT.WAITING FOR YOUR RESPONSE.
MY MAIL ID:<<removed>>
REGARDS
MR SAGAR
THE LAST MAIL WHICH I RECEIVED AT THESE MOVEMENT SO PLEASE CONSIDER IT AND INFORM ME.


The National Lottery
P O Box 1010
Liverpool, L70 1NL
UNITED KINGDOM
(Customer Services)
Ref: UK/9420X2/68
Batch: 074/05/ZY369
Fax: 44 (0)871 661 8831

SAGAR ,i just confirm from our account bearue officer and i was told there is no problem in the account given to you.
so i will advice you to quickly go ahead with the payment and quickly send a scan copy to me via email attachment.
below again is the bank details


MR MICHEAL DANAGOGO
ACCOUNT NUMBER:10140 PIN CODE:110057
PUNJAB NATIONAL BANK
VASAR VIHAR,C BLOCK
NEW DELHI.

quickly get back to me as time is of great essence.
await your fast response

Trainmaster
17 December 2005, 06:55
Hi Sagar,

Thank you for posting your question.

Yes, this is a fraud. No real lottery in the world will ever ask for fees for you to claim a prize that you have won. Do not send them any money - you will not see any of it back; in fact, they will continue to ask for more money. The best course of action for you to take is to simply stop communicating with them. They will soon realize that you will not be paying any money to them and they will not contact you any further afterwards.

Nyla
17 December 2005, 06:58
Hello Sagar,

I'm going to send this by email as well as posting in the forum. This is definitely another lottery scam. The fact that they are asking you to pay fees is the evidence. In the UK, it is illegal for a lottery to require a winner to pay in order to claim a prize. The real National Lottery is based in the UK and cannot ask for winners to pay fees. It would be against the law for them to do so.

It's slightly unusual that they are giving you a bank account to pay into rather than asking for them to be sent Western Union, but some scammers do operate accounts. Often opened with an innocent person's details. If you have given them a copy of your own ID, you may want to notify the Department of Foreign Exchange and let them know scammers have a copy of your ID. I'm told this helps prevent them opening an account in your name and using it to launder money.