View Full Version : is this a scam????
jessuk
19 November 2006, 13:10
silverbirdcompany@insurer.com
Nyla
19 November 2006, 21:24
I presume this has to do with your other thread.
I would not trust a "lender" that had an "insurer.com" email address. It is provided by the webmail provider http://www.mail.com , and it is free and anonymous. No reliable lender should be using an email address provided by mail.com.
Frazzle
20 November 2006, 00:06
I tried a Google for 'silverbirdcompany'. I got one hit at http://www.gumtree.com/services/loans/ but it had already gone from that site. (Maybe it had been reported as a scam?) It was still in Google's cache though:
Date: Saturday 11th November
Good day.
We have filed a draft of the loanterms and conditions and we would attend to your loan request within 72 hours if you abide by the rules of the company. We would offer you this loan. First of all, the loan will have to be insured at the insurance company. The insurance fee will be paid by both we the lender and you the borrower. The reason for the loan insurance is to ensure maximum safety. We were just been duped of 250,000 pounds last 3 months by someone from the UK. So we take all necessary measure to ensure that both parties are very safe. If you are genuine you will be recieving your loan within 72 hours from now as stated earlier. The loan details are drafted below:
LOAN AMOUNT:
INTEREST RATE: 0.2%
MONTHLY INTEREST:
YEARLY INTEREST:
XMAS DISCOUNT: 2 MONTH FREE OF INTEREST.
LOAN REPAYMENT METHOD: DIRRECT TRANSFER
INSURANCE DETAILS
THE INSURANCE WILL BE DONE AT THE INSURANCE COMPANY ( silverbirdcompany@insurer.com ) WHERE AN INSURANCE COVER WILL BE MADE TO SUCURE BOTH PARTIES. THE AIM OF THE INSURANCE ARE:
1. A SITUATION WHERE YOU ARE NOT ABLE TO REPAY THE LOAN WITH THE SPECULATED PERIOD, THE INSURANCE COMPANY WILL COVER UP FOR YOU.
2. FOR BUSINESS LOAN APPLICATION, YOU WOULD NOW HAVE ACCESS TO MORE LOAN APLLICATION EVEN IF YOU STILL OWE THE COMPANY.
If you agree with our terms and condition, just consider yourself worth pounds. If you agree let us know so we can proceed because we will be transfering to you when you deem necessary. We await your urgent response to proceed. have a nice day.
This looks to me like a cut'n'paste of a scam email.
I wouldn't deal with this guy at all.
But if you wish to proceed with this, I suggest that you get the insurance fees added to the total for the loan. Any bank I've ever dealt with that wanted me to insure a loan was only to happy to do this. Any scammer wouldn't want that, because your fees is all that they are interested in.
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.