ThatGrrl
12 November 2006, 12:10
http://www.westernunoin.com/
Note the spelling....
I came across this site when I was trying to get ot the WU site to see what WU actually was, how it worked and so on. I typed the address in wrong and look what came up... it seems pretty strange - the address, the fact it's all about money transfers as well, and the links to "I got rich on the internet in 1 year!!!" type places.
I was just wondering if someone with a bit more technical knowledge than me could have a look into it. I had a look at the DNS report - it seems to link back to the hostname bluegravity.com and when I hovered the mouse over a link from the page westernunoin.com the address http://landing.domainsponsor.com appeared in the bottom left of the browser...
I'm not sure what proof I would need that this definitely is a fake site - if it is, I'd like to shut it down - so any advice or further investigaiton would be greatly appreciated!
There is always the chance I'm being too suspicious, so any reality checks on that front would be good too ;)
Apologies if I've put this in the wrong part of the forum :oops:
Note the spelling....
I came across this site when I was trying to get ot the WU site to see what WU actually was, how it worked and so on. I typed the address in wrong and look what came up... it seems pretty strange - the address, the fact it's all about money transfers as well, and the links to "I got rich on the internet in 1 year!!!" type places.
I was just wondering if someone with a bit more technical knowledge than me could have a look into it. I had a look at the DNS report - it seems to link back to the hostname bluegravity.com and when I hovered the mouse over a link from the page westernunoin.com the address http://landing.domainsponsor.com appeared in the bottom left of the browser...
I'm not sure what proof I would need that this definitely is a fake site - if it is, I'd like to shut it down - so any advice or further investigaiton would be greatly appreciated!
There is always the chance I'm being too suspicious, so any reality checks on that front would be good too ;)
Apologies if I've put this in the wrong part of the forum :oops: