PDA

View Full Version : Fake Website of A Fictitous Law Firm;WWW.andersonlawchambers.com


ekky
30 August 2006, 16:09
We have noticed that some deceitful person has posted this website (www.andersonlawchambers.com) as a website of a Nigerian Law Firm. In fact what the fellow did was to clone an authentic website of a Nigerian Law firm (WWW.AEandElegal.com) The fellow removed all the contacts of the real law firm and inserted fake addresses and a fake mobile phone number with a yahoo e mail account. This occurence has already been reported to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission in Lagos. It is imperative that people be wary of dealing with firms who do not have fixed telephone lines. Any telephone line that (after the country code of 234) has 8 as the first digit and at least eight other digits is a mobile line and such people using such line as office numbers should be viewed with suspicion.

poirot
30 August 2006, 17:21
Thanks ekky for the warning and specially the details on how to detect mobile phones in Nigeria. I note that andersonlawchambers.com is now shut down.

If anyone has doubts about a Nigerian law firm, this is the Nigerian Bar Association's website address: www.nigerianbar.com

ekky
30 August 2006, 17:48
Dear Poirot,
Thanks for you reply. I however wish to note that the website is still up . I checked it after i got your message/post. I intend to check it again to be reassured of the hosting status

Regards
Ekky

breccia
30 August 2006, 17:54
Yep, I can still see the website too. The host appears to be calpop.com?

poirot
30 August 2006, 18:14
You're right, it's back up. It must have been a temporary thing. I'll fire off an abuse message to calpop.com. Even if it's already been reported, another letter can only help, specially if the host is slow to respond.

Goz
30 August 2006, 18:27
I have e-mailed the host. Ekky, I copied to to your firm so you should see my e-mail soon.

Rob
30 August 2006, 21:05
It's dead

breccia
30 August 2006, 21:17
I am still seeing it Rob...

Goz
30 August 2006, 21:17
Still live for me

Rob
31 August 2006, 08:21
Seriously, it's dead. Clear your cache. :)

ekky
31 August 2006, 09:37
Rob, It is dead to me too- Thanks Guys !!!:D

John Fairheart
31 August 2006, 22:37
16:09 - Ekky reports fake site.
18:27 - Goz reports abuse mail sent.
21:05 - Rob reports dead.

Now THAT is teamwork. Well done guys! :thumbup: