PDA

View Full Version : Global Express


wdjacobs
22 August 2006, 20:24
Global Express is supposed to be a third party shipping company, based in Madrid, and possibly Romania. Anyone ever heard of it, or is it a fake company? I've also seen it as Global Express Service Ltd.
I emailed them for info. They say that they do not have anything set up in the USA yet, but plan to. I cannot get any validation on their existence.

Daneel
22 August 2006, 20:33
Scammers often set up fake courier services to trick people their goods have been sent. Do they have a website? A name really is not much to go on to find out if they exist or not.

FW Admin
22 August 2006, 21:21
No company based in Madrid calls themselves "Ltd." - a company that has this suffix is registered in the UK at Companies House - you can do a web check on company names registered with them here (http://www.companieshouse.gov.uk) (only during the week between certain times - please check their website for details).

Frazzle
22 August 2006, 23:05
I think it is probably a fraud.

Googling for Global Express Service finds many courier companies (DHL, USPS, etc) offering a global express service, but no company by that name.

NO modern international courier company would be without a website.

Both Madrid and Romania are well-known haunts of scammers.

What is the context? Who has asked you to use this company? How much do you trust them?

wdjacobs
23 August 2006, 11:25
Scammers often set up fake courier services to trick people their goods have been sent. Do they have a website? A name really is not much to go on to find out if they exist or not.
Here is the website they have:
www.world-global-express.com
(Thanks for your reply to my question.)

Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers

wdjacobs
23 August 2006, 11:46
I think it is probably a fraud.

Googling for Global Express Service finds many courier companies (DHL, USPS, etc) offering a global express service, but no company by that name.

NO modern international courier company would be without a website.

Both Madrid and Romania are well-known haunts of scammers.

What is the context? Who has asked you to use this company? How much do you trust them?

The name of the company requesting Global Express is Best Electronics. On attempting to access their website, I get error message.

Daneel
23 August 2006, 14:08
Yep, www.world-global-express.com is a completely fake escrow site. These are fairly common and not very difficult to recognise if you know what to look for. This is not a real company as you suspected, it's just a website most likely set up by the same scammer who runs "Best Electronics".

More information on fake escrow sites can be found here:
http://escrow-fraud.com/

Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers

wdjacobs
23 August 2006, 21:19
Thank you Daneel.

Yep, www.world-global-express.com is a completely fake escrow site. These are fairly common and not very difficult to recognise if you know what to look for. This is not a real company as you suspected, it's just a website most likely set up by the same scammer who runs "Best Electronics".

More information on fake escrow sites can be found here:
http://escrow-fraud.com/

Another website exists at "worldglobalexpress.com", this is a completely different site and is not at all related to the fake escrow site mentioned in these posts /Fraudwatchers