PDA

View Full Version : Bamboobid.com To scam? Or not to Scam?


ltvennard
6 July 2009, 18:58
I recently was turned onto an auction site called bamboobid.com. The concept of the site is revolutionary but there is only one flaw you cannot win. I spent about $80 on the site before I started to recognize some of the auto bid patterns. I created a video of the system and posted it to youtube a couple of days ago heres the link for anyone who is intereseted. I recorded it on my iphone so its best if you watch it full screen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HdQK8TkkWU

Every time I bid I was immediatly outbid. If I bid again then I was out bid at 20 seconds everytime and the timer would run to zero on the name of the person who out bid me. There was no way for me to win the auction. And the pattern was the same on mutiple items. Not sure if its the site or some organization that is doing it but one thing is for sure you CANNOT WIN the way it's set up.

poirot
7 July 2009, 01:44
bamboobid.com was registered anonymously barely two weeks ago:
Domain Name: BAMBOOBID.COM
Created on: 22-Jun-09
Expires on: 22-Jun-10
Last Updated on: 22-Jun-09

It's a clone of bidaboom.com
Domain Name: BIDABOOM.COM
Registrant:
Online Surplus LLC
8343 Roswell Rd
Sandy Springs, Georgia 30350
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BIDABOOM.COM
Created on: 01-Apr-09
Expires on: 01-Apr-10
Last Updated on: 03-Jun-09
Administrative Contact:
Smitley, Robert robert.smitley@gmail.com
Online Surplus LLC
8343 Roswell Rd
Sandy Springs, Georgia 30350
United States
+1.912-275-6732

Same address, and if you are to believe this poster (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090517232321AApZGAo), another convoluted system.
Edge Products LLC
8343 Roswell Rd Suite 236
Sandy Springs, GA 30350

ghand
12 August 2009, 02:29
I was shopping on Craigslist in Atlanta. I was trying to get an Itouch. I contacted a person listing one at a great price. He responded that his was sold but that I could get one real cheap on Bidaboomauction. He said that is where he got his. I believe this is a part of the hook. He was marketing through bogus Craigslist postings.

There is little doubt that this is a scam, an ingenious one, but a scam none the less.