PDA

View Full Version : Be aware of Mark Birkett!


waterlily
11 June 2009, 14:59
Greetings,

I am new on this very useful site, so I hope I am writing to the right place.

I am the representant of a company dealing with internatioanl trade.

We are members on some trading sites on the web, and recently a person called Mr. Mark Birkett contacted us.
After some E-mails he sent us a Purchase Order, for quite a large amount.

Since we were a bit suspicious about his letters, we tried to check if the company he was representing was officially registered. We have found the official website of the company, placed in UK and the E-mail adress shown there was different from the one given to us. I think I cannot write the name of the company I am speaking of, or:confused:?

So we have finally forwarded the Purchase Order to the E-mail adress of the company, shown on the website,asking for a approval to send the Proforma Invoice.
Today we got a phone call, from the company, and a very kind person informed us, that they have not ordered anything ( although the Purchase Order seemed real even to him!!!), and they have already got similar orders from France, Bulgaria, Sweden and many other countries. The guy is actually using all data of the company, registration nr. and everything, all he has changed was the E-mail adress.
He adviced us to stop communicating with this person, and that we should feel lucky for not paying anything to him It could have been worst.

He said, that when he called other companies, who have sent a very similar order to ours, some of them have already got tricked, they payed or transferred a sum.

He asked me some details, about this person: did he write he was an agent, did he ask for 2% commission, is his wife in the hospital...and I said yes, yes, yes.....well he said it seems he doesn't like to change the scenario!!!:oops:

They have reported to the police several times, but useless...they cannot track him!

So here are some details about "our business partner" (we thought so), and a e-mail:


Mark Birkett, markbirkett42@yahoo.com
Tel (0044) 7035982452

Dear Sir,

Today , your mineral water price list was approved during the meeting with the Procurement Department Board Committee of **** LIMITED with their local client.

After the meeting with their board of Directors and they requested that you send the proforma invoice covering the total 12 months contracts order supply of mineral water as below:


Here is the address of the principle buyer and this address should be used in preparing the proforma invoice and there are to pay the total payment 100% T/T in Advance:



Below are the company that is buying this products for your information
Company Name:
Adress:
Tel.
E-mail adress.
Contact Person:

So what you will do now is to send to me the proforma invoice that covers the total one year contracts and A copy to the contracts committee through above contacts and when i received the invoice copy then i will submitt it to the organization Officially for their study and payment approval.


Note: if the organization approved the invoice & your company to be the supplier then there will proceed for contracts signing & payment transfer with you.

So i am waiting for your invoice to present to the contracts Procurement committee in their official Board meeting.

Finaly, Note that I am a government consultant and it have been very hard for me especialy now that my wife is very ill in the hospital living me with the kids behind. as such i will need your help so that i can settle my wife hospital bill.

Please kindly add 2% in the final invoice so that once you received your payment then you will send back my commision to me and i dont want the end buyer to know about it please and I promise to help your company finalized with this contract here.



Thanks & Best Regards

Mr Mark Birkett
Tel (0044) 7035982452


If anyone received something similar, please give up any further communications with this person. This is what the company contact person from *****LIMITED is advicing for everyone!!!

fraudwatchers you are doing a wonderful work!!:thumbup:

Curious Nelly
11 June 2009, 15:50
Tel (0044) 7035982452 (+44-703-5982452) Personal Number, UK:

If the given phone or fax number starts with +4470 it is a link number what connects you with anywhere in the world, but not to a real UK supplier !

The same you can expect when the phone or fax starts with +4487, that is a computer service provider or National link number with equal effect !

All following Modifications like +44070, +44087 or 70..., 070, 87..., 087 without Country Code for connections to the UK are same, this numbers are mostly used by fraudsters to hide their Place of residence, you can be 100% shure that it is a fraud !

Generally all Geographic landlines in the United Kingdom incl.Northern Ireland start from abroad with +441 or +442 and will be followed by 8/9 digits !

http://resources.alibaba.com/topic/18958/Scammer_Information_UK_phone_or_fax_numbers_special_starting _4470_or_4487.htm?message=62715


markbirkett42@yahoo.com:
(ad)
Looking for Furnitures EXPORTERS

Posted By: CONSULTANT UK

Offer Details: Looking for Furnitures EXPORTERS

Dear. Sir/Madam,

I am a consultant Based in Lincolnshire, England, we are a small team of Consultant, Mark and daughter . We established this cooperation in 2003 to broaden our Capability of provinding different product from suppliers & exporter to our teaming client arround UK & beyond. I have endbuyer here in United Kingdom that is looking for an exporter that can supply this products to them here in United Kingdom and in large quantity base well, its is a pleasure to associate with you for marketing and distribution of your products and believe you will accord us the co-operation for this exercise.

kindly forward us your products specification , Catalogues, prices, and general terms and conditions of payment etc for our markets study, we have a buying company that is capable of purchasing your product in a large quantity with their cash here in United Kingdom

We will like you to send your reply through our company email address below :

Mr. Mark Birkett
Heapham Road Gainsborough
Lincolnshire DN211QU
England Tel/Fax : +4470359 82452 (same phone number]
Email address: markbirkett42@yahoo.com

waterlily
11 June 2009, 15:57
Thanks Curious Nelly:thumbup:

So Mr. Mark Birkett has more identities, and of course companies!!

Amazing!!!:clapping: