PDA

View Full Version : Fraudulent Wachovia e-mails


nicshipley
26 July 2006, 20:01
I have been sent 2 fraudulent e-mails which claim to be from Wachovia. They ask you to update your online account by clicking on a link. The link is showing it's origin is Denmark. Once you click on the link, it has you log into what they want you to think is your Wachovia online account. However, they now have your online account login info. It also asks for your bank account number and your ATM password. I spoke with Wachovia and they are trying to track the criminals down. If you receive an e-mail like this, you can forward it to abuse@wachovia.com. I had to immediately change my online bank account login and my personal e-mail login info.

John Fairheart
27 July 2006, 19:13
Hi nicshipley,

Good advice and thank you for posting. This type of solicitation is commonly called 'phishing' and is designed to acquire your personal details, for theft of money, or theft of identity.

I'll move this from the Welcome section into a more appropriate area.

Thanks for posting!