View Full Version : IS this company real?
aladin61
12 July 2006, 21:29
Hi everyone ,
I am new here...
I am wishing to buy some fishing reels and I have come across this company on Alibaba : Pt. Main Engklek, www.mainengklek.com. They are in Indonesia. Is there a way to find out if this company is not a scam before I send them money for the reels I wish to buy?
Thanks
Aladin61
Daneel
12 July 2006, 22:07
There is a ridiculous amount of scammers from Medan, Indonesia that try to sell a lot of different items. I can't find much on this company through Google despite the fact that they claim to have been in business since 1997. They are not listed in the Indonesian yellow pages:
http://www.yellowpages.co.id/
I did find a company with an identical About Us description here:
http://www.alibaba.com/company/10405199.html
This usually means it's just another company set up by the same scammer, a lot of them use identical descriptions.
There is a fairly large chance this is just another Medan scam. Some of the Indonesians on the Alibaba forum can usually help you out with these as well.
John Fairheart
12 July 2006, 22:13
There is no website at the address you have given www.mainengklek.com . The DNS Lookup is not good though as it was registered on 21st April 2006, for 1 year. The WHOIS details point to the following:
Preston Burris (SALES\at/MECHMARJAYA.COM)
+1.7707927724
Fax: +1.7707927724
1563 Cooks Pond Drive
Powder Springs, GA 30127
US
The website at www.mechmarjaya.com appears to be selling GSM's using the hosting company of www.homestead.com a renound FREE WEBSITE host.
The address of the website is listed as:
Mr. Chandra Lie
(OWNER)
PT. MECHMAR JAYA
Jl. Komandan Laut Sudarso 105-107
Medan - 20242
Propinsi Sumatera Utara
INDONESIA
+62 815 3435 6868
email : mechmarjaya\at/yahoo.com
From this page http://www.mechmarjaya.com/testimonials.html
Payment Methods Accepted
1. We prefer Wire Transfer or T/T (Ship in the same day as payment confirm)
2. Western Union Money Transfer (Ship in 3-5 days for banking process).
Why is it on the testimonials page?
There are points to note about this...
1. First domain is registered for only a year.
2. Registrant details are in the USA not Indonesia.
3. Second website is hosted on a FREE webhost.
4. Contact addresses are to a FREE webmail account (yahoo).
5. Payment methods are INSECURE (Western Union)
In all I would say that this is the work of a scammer. There are far too many red flags to make this even remotely legitimate. My advice is NOT to deal with this person.
aladin61
13 July 2006, 00:12
http://stores.mainengklek.net/StoreFront.bok
Thanks for your help guys
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.