PDA

View Full Version : Be our distributor? Real? Serious?


Lisa
12 July 2006, 08:59
Hi,
I got a "job offer" from a company called Gallant Ocean in Thailand from cgfinfo@wanadoo.es into my mailbox, inviting me (anyone) to be their distributor. Have anyone else heard of this company? Does anyone else know if this is a serious company?(Why a Spanish emailaddress?)
Please let me know if you know anything.

Lisa


Copy from part of the email:
Gallant Ocean (Chia Fong) was founded in 1984 by Mr. Gary Ho. Because of Asia's rich seafood resources and low labor costs, we are able to offer high quality seafood from Taiwan, China, Thailand, and Vietnam at a very competitive price. Our main exports are: black tiger shrimp, white shrimp, tilapia, Mahi Mahi, Spanish mackerel (Seer fish), and narrow barred Spanish mackerel.

1996- Gallant Ocean is awarded HACCP certification for the production of fish under America's PDA seafood regulations.

Prospect: Our goal is to be the leading importer/exporter of premium frozen seafoods. We will accomplish this with such steps as continual investment in state of the art processing factories and low-temperature storage and transportation facilities. This way we can ensure a ready supply of a variety of high quality and low priced frozen foods available for speedy delivery anywhere in the world. We are determined to serve the needs of our customers world wide with unfailing quality, service, and price. As a result we seek a dynamic individual/corporate body with proven marketing and managerial skills as Major Distributor.

http://clasificados.wanadoo.es/

John Fairheart
12 July 2006, 12:59
Welcome to Fraudwatchers Lisa,

You are correct to question the 'offer' and from you have written I can be 100% certain that it is a scam.

The REAL Gallant Ocean website is here: www.gallant-ocean.com and they would certainly not be using FREE webmail addresses like wanadoo.es -- This is the first sign of a fraud.

The website like you have given has nothing whatsoever to do with anything, as it the website of the Free webmail provider, nothing more than a bunch of advertising.

The REAL Gallant Ocean are not involved with this, and it is a very common scam, that may entice you to 'sign-up' which would then result in many fees for 'documentation' and other bogus reasons.

The more common scam would involve the 'processing of cheques and/or wire transfers'. This would result in you receiving fake/stolen cheques to put through your bank account. You would be asked to send the money (less your wages) to someone else via the scammer favourite of Western Union. Once the bank finds out the cheque is a fraud, you would be in serious trouble with the authorities.

In all, 100% fraud Lisa, do not respond to the email, or any like it.

Thanks for posting!

Lisa
12 July 2006, 20:32
Thanks a lot for your fast reply John! I'm glad I didn't respond to it. Oh my, you learn something new every day, seems like most of what comes into your mailbox is scam nowadays, at least the "too-good-to-be-true-ones"!
Anyway, also glad I found this site, I've already recommended it to several of my friends!

All the best,
Lisa

John Fairheart
12 July 2006, 20:50
No problem Lisa. If you or any of your friends ever need any clarification of offers you get in your Inboxes, we will be only too pleased to share our expertise with you. We will (hopefully) give enough information so you can make a judgement on the validity of such offers.

As you say, the number of email scams is alarming, but you have done well to question this one, and we are glad we could help.

:cool: