PDA

View Full Version : Security Notice from DHL


DHL Express
16 March 2009, 13:28
There is an Internet scam in which a name brand product is offered on an “online community” website at a vastly reduced priced. When the unsuspecting individual accepts the offer, he or she is sent an email purporting to be from DHL and bearing DHL’s name, logos, and colors. The email indicates that the product is in possession of DHL and that in order for it to be released, the recipient will have to send payment to a fictitious DHL agent. In addition to payment, the email also asks the receiver to provide the sender with sensitive personal information, such as a home address. This email is not from DHL, but instead is an unauthorized email fraudulently appearing to have come from DHL.

In one such case, we identified the sender of the email as customerservice@globalexpress-dhl.com. This email address is not in any way affiliated with DHL and the emails sent from this email address are false and fraudulent.

Emails asking for personal information and payment by pretending to be a legitimate company are known as "phishing emails." These emails will often claim to be urgent and necessary in order to entice you to provide the requested information. However, no representative from DHL will ever ask for personal information through email correspondence or website links within the email. DHL does not request payment or personal information in return for goods in transit or in DHL custody.

DHL strives to protect your privacy and security from unwanted intrusions. Therefore, if you receive an email asking for personal information or payment, please do not respond to the email or click on any website links within the email. Instead, promptly notify DHL of this fraudulent email. We thank you for your cooperation in preventing the unauthorized use of your personal information.

poirot
17 March 2009, 01:03
Welcome to FraudWatchers DHL Express and thank you for that detailed information.

I note that globalexpress-dhl.com has now been shut down (http://forum.aa419.org/viewtopic.php?t=21970&highlight=globalexpressdhl) and so has it's clone globaldhlexpress.com (http://db.aa419.org/fakebanksview.php?key=23123)

These criminals probably already have a new domain registered already.