PDA

View Full Version : Scam or not?


Brandy
29 May 2006, 15:31
Hello, we got this Email today and I'm not sure if it's scam or not. We do sell stroboscopic systems and we replied. We got an email back within one hour.

Our company name was also included to this mail (I marked it as xxx).

************************************************************
hi manager,
My name is Wilson Crawford, i am a medical director and i am
intereted in purchasing the following medical instrument
from you for the health government of my country.I would
appreciate if u can sell this following goods to me because
they are needed urgently to increase live saving chances of
government hospitals patients .I will need the total cost of the goods
including shippment via DHL,USPS or FEDEX air frieght priority
within 2-4 working days to the address below.

SHIPPING ADDRESS
APC AND CO.
56, efon alaye street,
palm avenue, mushin,
lagos state nigeria.
postcode: 23401
DAY TIME NO:234018026558107
NIGHT TIME NO:234018150300

ITEMS NEEDED:

xxx stroboscope system.................2 units

I will be expecting the quote as soon as possible and also
tell me what type of credit card u accept for the payment ok.
Your urgent response will be well appreciated.
thanks
Wilson Crawford
**********************************************************

Rob
29 May 2006, 17:02
Hello,

I'm pretty sure that they're going to pay with stolen credit-card details. Therefore they'd probably be willing to pay even if it is heavily overpriced. Smells like a scam. If they send you the credit-card details, please let us know. We'll report them to the proper authorities.

Browade
29 May 2006, 17:18
Brandy this is a scam. They research business forums on yahoo and many other places looking for the contact information for companies like yours. The format that they used in contactinng you is the same I have seen used on victims here. One man here lost $19,000 in chainsaws he shipped them.

Rob is right they usually want to pay by credit card, usually that of an Uncle or some business partner so you will not question the difference in names on the card and the one they are using. Now days many of them will also be happy to send you a certified cashiers check or Postal Money Orders for the purchase. These will be masterfully done digital clone counterfeits of a real cashiers check or MO.

If you will post the full headers of the email you received from them I will be happy to see if this came from a scammer gang we already have information on. JUST BE SURE TO REPLACE YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS WITH XXXXX but leave the scammers visible when you post it.

EDIT: I must be getting deslexic as I reversed Rob and Brandy's names my appologies.

Brandy
29 May 2006, 17:39
X-Account-Key: account7
X-UIDL: 0MKpV6-1Fkdxr0gFK-00040Q
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path: <wilson_crawford@hotmail.com>
Delivery-Date: Mon, 29 May 2006 11:23:07 +0200
Received-SPF: pass (mxeu1: domain of hotmail.com designates 64.4.53.75 as permitted sender) client-ip=64.4.53.75; envelope-from=wilson_crawford@hotmail.com; helo=hotmail.com;
Received: from [64.4.53.75] (helo=hotmail.com)
by mx.kundenserver.de (node=mxeu1) with ESMTP (Nemesis),
id 0MKpV6-1Fkdxq2knr-00040Q for xxx@yyy.com; Mon, 29 May 2006 11:23:07 +0200
Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
Mon, 29 May 2006 02:23:05 -0700
Message-ID: <BAY19-F25AD933FB5E03D90348771889D0@phx.gbl>
Received: from 81.199.243.131 by by19fd.bay19.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;
Mon, 29 May 2006 09:23:00 GMT
X-Originating-IP: [81.199.243.131]
X-Originating-Email: [wilson_crawford@hotmail.com]
X-Sender: wilson_crawford@hotmail.com
From: "WILSON CRAWFORD SANTONIO" <wilson_crawford@hotmail.com>
To: xxx@yyy.com
Bcc:
Subject: INTERNATIONAL ORDER
Date: Mon, 29 May 2006 09:23:00 +0000
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 29 May 2006 09:23:05.0175 (UTC) FILETIME=[7D94D670:01C68301]
Envelope-To: yyy@yyy.com

FW Admin
29 May 2006, 17:45
Hello Brandy; this email originated from a computer connected to the Gilat Satellite Network (GilatSatcom) who provide satellite internet links throughout Africa. Virtually all known internet cafes in Nigeria are customers of Gilat.
ip number: 81.199.243.131
inetnum: 81.199.240.0 - 81.199.247.255
netname: GilatSatcom-02
descr: Gilat Satcom range
country: IL They have a very high reported incidence of scam and spam.

Browade
29 May 2006, 17:58
I did a little research in my counterfeit check database and this address
56, efon alaye street,
palm avenue, mushin,
lagos state nigeria.
postcode: 23401

has been used in the past by the scammers doing the bad checks