PDA

View Full Version : winning e-mail


jsrw2003
28 May 2006, 09:42
i have recieved an e-mail from mr. Wayne Thompson infosweetwin@openforyou.com tel +44-7040109789 telling me that i have won $5,500,000 and he send me a winning certificate with my full name on it.
what shall i do?.

Ernest Rutherford
28 May 2006, 10:04
Welcome to FraudWatchers.

This is a Lottery Scam, which we're seeing a lot of on the 'net these days. You haven't really won anything. The scammer will either ask you to pay fees in advance for the certificate to clear, or have you cash a check and wire part of the balance back to them. In either case, you stand to lose a lot of money if you go through with this. Just ignore the scammer and don't respond to any emails from them. They will leave you alone once they realize they won't be stealing any money from you.

Where is Mr. Thompson supposed to be? His email is registered through a provider in Spain, but his number is a mobile in the UK.

Edited to sound a little better-Ace

Goz
28 May 2006, 10:06
Welcome to Fraudwatchers!

The e-mail is a scam - you haven't really won the lottery. Simply ignore the e-mail, and any similar ones that you receive in future.

You have received the e-mail because your e-mail address is somewhere on the internet and the scammers have found it. Try searching for your address on Google to find where it appears.

Big Al
28 May 2006, 10:10
Hi jsrw2003, what to do about it? first thing is not to believe it!! no one sends money without getting some back and as you did not purchase a ticket how can you win? and where would the winnings come from? so it is as you suspect a scam . you will be asked to provide money for "fees' or charges to release the winnings ! this is what the scammer is after and how the scam works, i suggest you do not reply nor contact them in any way and they will lose interest, please contact us again if you need any help thank you big Al :)