PDA

View Full Version : Another twist in the Accurum et al story?


dontfall
18 September 2008, 00:46
I found a posting for a job offer at a job board aimed at the mexican market from a company called sibatel communications (http://sibatel.com). The person making the post, and the one who subsequently replied my emails called himself DK Singh. They offer a job in the US, and TN visa processing / H1B sponsorship / Green Card processing. After I sent them my resume, I received an email reply with a questionnaire I should fill, asking things like how much you are currently earning, your availability, and whether you have a valid drivers license, and a credit card for renting a car (which sounded a bit suspicious to me). After answering it, I got a phone call in which I was interviewed in general about my past projects as a programmer, what type of experience I had, and whether I had any java certifications (curiously enough, the job description called for programmers in any language), and I was told I would be trained before actually getting to work with their clients. He boast such high profile clients as Boeing, AIG SunAmerica and Bank of America (the last one is not listed on their website as a client), and told me they are a small, but aggressive consulting company. The training period would be 3 or 4 months depending on my performance, and in this time I would pursue certification in various J2EE technologies. During this training period, they would pay me roughly what I'm making here in Mexico, and I would start earning 50000 a year once I was accepted by one of their customers, plus medical insurance, and the processing of visa and Green Card. I am supposed to receive a follow up call with a management person after I reply that I accept the offer the made.

So far, no requests for money have been made, except that it seems I'll have to pay for my ticket to L.A. and they will reimburse me later. They will also provide lodging, but I will have to pay for my own food

Checking the whois for sibatel.com brought up Deepkaran Singh as the admin (which I presume is the guy who contacted me.) The domain is hosted by yahoo, as is the site (www.sibatel.com, you can even see yahoo's favicon on the site.) Some further due diligence brought me to a post at Univision (http://foro.univision.com/univision/board/message?board.id=74659768841&message.id=26177), of another wary user. In the replies he gets, there's a message from someone who called one of the companies that have testimonials at sibatels sitel (http://sibatel.com/testimonials.html), and they don't even know the guy who supposedly gave the testimonial. A search for the H1B Visa applications by that company at myvisajobs returned 3 petitions.
Yet more searches about the companies modus operandi brought me to this site, to the article entitled "H1B Applications - A Fraud Most Foul". It brought to mind another company that contacted me, that is also located in New Jersey called cyberthink. This one, however I'm not so sure about, since it has filed 1149 petitions, so it might be legit.
There's yet another company that contacted me I'm unsure of, that is called google... hehehe just kidding.

Daneel
18 September 2008, 01:12
And compare their testimonials to this site for example:
http://www.frontier-consulting.com/testimonialsit.html
Different names and companies but same text.

Searching for a phrase in their "about us" description finds a number of other companies who seem to have the exact same text as well:
http://www.google.com/search?q=%22Our+instructors%27+real-world+expertise+is+incorporated+in+each+of+our+classes,+givi ng+your+team%22

There are plenty of other shady Indian "employment consultants" beside Accurum and their cousins, this looks like one of them.

hellofriends
18 August 2009, 23:47
I couldn't help replying to your posts here for the simple reason that my friend is actually an employee of this company, Sibatel.
They are a small yet trustworthy consulting company doing business in the US.
My friend has been employed with them for around 2.5 years now.
I had also applied for a job there a year back but they were not hiring at that time.
I'm not sure about their website and testimonials so no comments there but my friend confirmed that he wasn't charged anything by them and his ticket to Los Angeles was reimbursed once he reached there.
They do offer a company apartment also where my friend lived for a few months.
I am in a very good company with an excellent pay package in Mexico right now but if I reconsider going to the US, I will definitely try and get in touch with them again.