PDA

View Full Version : Is this a scam (I gave only my address and home phone#


tkaske
18 May 2006, 22:02
CHAMBERS OF MR GARY GARLAND(ESQ)
BARRISTERS, ADVOCATES SOLICITORS, AND NOTARY PUBLIC;
ACCREDITTED TO COMMONWEALTH AND MINISTRY OF JUSTICE
OFFICE: 16 Fairway Court, Fletcher Road
Greenesfield Gateshead,NE8 2AY
England, London UK.


FROM: Barrister Gary Garland (J.R).
Senior Advocate / Principal Attorney.

Al-Ajlan
ATTENTION: Kaske,

Last and Final Notification of Bequest.

On behalf of the Trustees and Executor of the estate of Late Engr. Peter Kaske, I once again trying to notify you as my earlier letter to you through the Post Office was returned undelivered, therefore I now attempt to reach you via your email address as it appears to be the next and the only option left unexplored. My late client made you a beneficiary in his will, he left Six Million one Hundred United States Dollars (US$6.100.000.00) to you in the codicil and last testament to his will. My client was a pioneer member of STRABAG CONSTRUCTION CO.LTD,a dedicated Christian and Philanthropist.

He died on the 9th day of February 2002 at the age of 82years and his Will is now ready for execution. Please If I reach you as I am hopeful I will, endeavor to get back to me as soon as possible to enable me conclude my job,you should forward along your current telephone and Fax numbers, your current mailing address.

Once again, I congratulate you for this is a significant honor indeed as it behooves you therefore to act at once to avoid risk of forfeiture to the deceased family.

Verified / Confirmed Next of Kin To: Late Engr. Peter Kaske, Process of Remitting the Sum of US$6,100,000.00 to you, in Progress.

Yours truly,
Barrister Gary Garland J.R (Sectional Head)
Senior Advocate/ Principal Attorney.
Probate and Bequest Division
For: CHAMBERS OF MR GARY GARLAND

topcop
18 May 2006, 22:19
Yes it is a scam - Big time..... I do not believe that you will have anything to fear from them, physically. I don't think they will come to your house, so the fact that they have your address may be a problem only because you will probably get a lot of "junk mail".... The phone number may be a problem because they may harrass you by phone. If you can, put a block on any number they call you from and do not answer when they call. Over a reletively short time, it will probably stop. If not, you can always change your number. A pain in the neck, but it works..... There are many others here who can give you ton's of advise, so keep checking here.... tc

Nyla
19 May 2006, 22:40
If you simply tell them, politely but firmly, that you know they're scammers, you will be ignoring them (then ignore them) they'll probably scamper away in short order, once they realize you won't send money. There's little danger in them knowing your phone number and home address, most likely. Simply be on higher alert for scam phone calls and snail mail. Be wary of anything that asks for personal information or financial information, and don't give out sensitive information on the phone unless you initiated the call and know you are speaking to a real representative of your bank (or whatever organization phones up and claims to need information on you).

Browade
26 May 2006, 02:27
Also take steps to protect your identity because some of the scammers are now running paid background searches on victims to get their DOBs and Social Security Numbers also.

The best protection is to join a service that allows you to check your credit report as often as you want, and then check it frequently. If you see someone that you are not doing business with checking your credit contact them because that is usually the first sign of someone opening an account using your ID. It is also easier to block new accounts than to prove it was not you that opened it, after it has been used.

It is the old ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure thing. Like Top Cop said, they are seldom a physical threat; but they can ruin you by stealing your identity.

tevz30
26 May 2006, 23:08
I had asomeone named Leo Oakans from Nigeria ask me for my address he asked me said hes going to send me flowers and also said he was going to have a friend send me a check one check was for 6000.00 at first and then he changed his tune to 150000.00 and Im supppose to send him the money and he would give me ten percent of it....First I may be blonde Im not stupid and second of all I get a check for that amount I would be stupid to send them the money....lol:lol: I believe there is another one name Clement Jude where he said he worked for Nike and I would cash his check he would tell them I was his wife....They are out there just watch out....


Tina

warriorgirl
27 May 2006, 03:08
This is a scam. Anytime they want you to cash a check and keep 10%, it is a money laundering scam. By the sounds of it you were also involved with a romance scammer. You may find the answers you need if you go here:
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/faq.php.
http://www.internet-love-scams.org

Another good site to look into!

The check they asked you to cash was probably a forged stolen check and in the end you would have owed the bank the whole amount of the check. You were very wise to know that is was a scam and not agree to it. BTW I am blond also!!

ARCHER3256
29 May 2006, 09:40
I had asomeone named Leo Oakans from Nigeria ask me for my address he asked me said hes going to send me flowers and also said he was going to have a friend send me a check one check was for 6000.00 at first and then he changed his tune to 150000.00 and Im supppose to send him the money and he would give me ten percent of it....First I may be blonde Im not stupid and second of all I get a check for that amount I would be stupid to send them the money....lol:lol: I believe there is another one name Clement Jude where he said he worked for Nike and I would cash his check he would tell them I was his wife....They are out there just watch out....


Tinayou have some ability to bait the scammer nut don't ever let your personnal information about your name,adress,phone number or account or id card number or passport at the view of unknown persons especially on the net

Browade
29 May 2006, 20:51
Please take a look at my post in the NOTICES SECTION the thread name is A NEW NIGERIAN THREAT FROM TORONTO all they need is a name address and phone number in the US and from what I can find out in the UK also and from that they can use Intelus or another such service to get the rest of the info they need.