PDA

View Full Version : is this a scam? please let me know!


tammy
9 May 2006, 18:28
I have a painting web site and "Sue" (I'm changing the name for now) contacted me using our "contact us" form. She said she had an art assignment and asked what the real name of the artist was.

Field Value
First_Name Sue
Last_Name ---- (I delete it for now)
Email xxxchocolate@hotmail.com
Telephone 95601991
Questions_and_Comments i am doing and art assignment 4 school and i need to know the name of the real artist who painted the painting can u please replie as sooon as posible i only have till tuesday !!! Love From Sue Keep up the great work
Submit0 Submit




Although I thought it was strange that she couldn't tell the artist name from my web site, I thought she might be a first grader or so and politely replied, then, from her own email account within 12 hours, she said, "they're biutifl. I want 2 buy 1." or something like it. She asked, "what country are you in?" It was funny she never mentioned which piece she liked in the first 2 mails. Also, her spelling is awful but she seems to be fine with writing "chocolate"!

I ignored the question and asked which piece she wanted to buy, and asked her address and telephone number. Below is her reply I got from her. Would you please kindly read it and let me know if you think this is a scam?

Also, could you tell what "realestate.com.au" at the end of the message means from a school student's email, and would you please tell me what agency I can report for international email scam?

Thanks for your help!

----- Forwarded message from xxchocolate@hotmail.com -----
Date: Tue, 09 May 2006 18:42:22 +1000
From: Sue <xxchocolate@hotmail.com>
Reply-To: Sue <xxchocolate@hotmail.com>
Subject: RE: wildlife painting


well i am in love with the painting xx it is sooo beautiful i will send
u a coppie of my assignmnet so u can see it, It is on ur painting 'xx'.
Um how mcuh will it coast me to purchase it
i live in AUSTRLIA! well see u soon



[Hide Quoted Text]
>>To: xxchocolate@hotmail.com
>Subject: wildlife painting
>Date: Mon, 08 May 2006 10:08:14 -0600
>
>Hello Sue,
>
>Thank you very much for your message. We're glad that you liked them!
>Would
>you let us know which piece you're interested in purchasing, and what your
>address and telephone number are?
>
>Good luck with your school.


____________________________________________________________ _____
realestate.com.au: the biggest address in property
http://ninemsn.realestate.com.au

Daneel
9 May 2006, 18:36
The link at the bottom of the email is simply an advertisement added to sent emails from free hotmail accounts.

It's hard to tell if this is a scam. Even the average 419 scammer spells better than that :) or at least they don't use the same type of internet-speak.

If she offers to pay with a check, it's a scam.

topcop
9 May 2006, 18:45
tammy - If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck...... you know the rest... This has all the earmarks of an "overpay" scam. They will send you way more than you want and the check will be a forgery. They will want you to cash/deposit the check and send some of the cash to them by western union (or similar method). The cash you send will be to a third party to cover shipping, etc. The bad check comes back and you are liable to the bank, the bad guys have your money(which you will not get back) and they are almost impossible to track, capture and prosecute. Sorry, but that's the long and short of it.... As far as contacting Law Enforcement, that is a good idea, but understand that there is not much they can probably do. I'm sure your local PD or Sheriff will appreciate knowing what's going on and can/will pass it on to whomever they believe can use the info...... Thanks for the posting and good luck .... tc