PDA

View Full Version : Winner ???


Grim
14 August 2008, 04:21
Hi I recieved emails that showed I was a confirmed winner after winning FreeLotto (not Pending). I sent my TN# and did the requested things to collect and have since recieved parcel release forms from Access America Financial Services [processing@wholesaleshipments.com] and Crown Imperial Imports [processing@wholesaleshipments.com]. These have been accompanied by similar snail mail requests all asking for around $30.00 release fees.
Is this legit or do I stop now.
Example: (minus the Resolution Numbers and prizes the wording states)


Notice of Property Resolution
Your property has already been assigned to you and is unconditionally guaranteed to be delivered to you upon your fullfilment of the simple order requirements. this is not an award draw, contest or other game of chance.

All properties described herein have been secured for the sole benefit of the individual cosignee in the program identified by the resolution number above. you are entitled to acquire property in an international program with the maximum distribution value of US$33,199.88. To claim the property assigned to you, complete the enclosed Resolution Claim Form and return it with the assessed property acquisition fee.

International Payments Centre
PO BOX 294
Lake Grove, NY
11755-0294
USA


Please help

Grim:

Nyla
14 August 2008, 16:03
Hi I recieved emails that showed I was a confirmed winner after winning FreeLotto (not Pending). I sent my TN# and did the requested things to collect and have since recieved parcel release forms from Access America Financial Services [processing@wholesaleshipments.com] and Crown Imperial Imports [processing@wholesaleshipments.com].

That email address is posted as a known "problem address" on several sites.

http://www.google.com/search?q=processing%40wholesaleshipments.com&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Among them, Rip Off Report.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/180/RipOff0180397.htm

Did your email include the same disclaimer at the bottom?

This message is a solicitation.

This e-mail has been sent out by wholesaleshipments.com, One of many brands which includes 5staroutlet.com, acting as a service provider for PlasmaNet Inc. According to our records, you are receiving this message
because you indicated that you wished to receive commercial messages from one or more of its brands. If you would prefer not to receive future commercial messages of this type at this e-mail address from
wholesaleshipments.com. Click here


Notice how it's a commercial email disclaimer? This "vendor" is an advertising partner with Plasma Net. And 5staroutlet.com also sends lots of emails that are really sales pitches heavily disguised as "prize notices". If you read the fine print on those carefully, you'll find it's not a sweepstakes at all, but an "opportunity to purchase merchandise". Usually blindly. They'll claim there's one big ticket item, like an HD TV, but in reality, you're going to get an overpriced coffee maker if you pay the "fee".

That seems to be borne out by the text you pasted below.

More about Freelotto here.

http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/view.php?pg=fw_freelotto

These have been accompanied by similar snail mail requests all asking for around $30.00 release fees.
Is this legit or do I stop now.

Stop now, because asking for a fee to "release" a prize you have won is completely and totally illegal. It would violate advance fee laws.


Notice of Property Resolution
Your property has already been assigned to you and is unconditionally guaranteed to be delivered to you upon your fullfilment of the simple order requirements. this is not an award draw, contest or other game of chance.

All properties described herein have been secured for the sole benefit of the individual cosignee in the program identified by the resolution number above. you are entitled to acquire property in an international program with the maximum distribution value of US$33,199.88. To claim the property assigned to you, complete the enclosed Resolution Claim Form and return it with the assessed property acquisition fee.

International Payments Centre
PO BOX 294
Lake Grove, NY
11755-0294
USA


In other words, that really says: "We have a piece of merchandise we would like to sell you. This is not a contest or sweepstakes, so we're not bound by advance fee laws. We can charge you $100 for a 'solar clothes dryer' that turns out to be a clothesline and a couple of clothes pegs. You're entitled to spend your money with us for this totally non-descript piece of merchandise, which may be worth anything up to US$33,199.88. It could also be worth as little as $5, but notice we don't say that.

To claim this piece of merchandise, please send us the purchase fee and tell us where to ship your overpriced piece of merchandise. Please don't be alarmed by the fact that our headquarters is a post office box."

Also, the same address is used by a company using a different name, and guess where it's mentioned? On a page warning of bogus sweepstakes notices.

http://opencubicle.net/content/2008/04/17/ronkonkoma-new-york-scam/