PDA

View Full Version : Curious employment offer


davenerven
8 May 2006, 21:10
This is really, really fishy. The sender is using a Yahoo account!

Date: Mon, 8 May 2006 15:54:32 -0400 (EDT)
From: DFR Investments <dfrinvestments@yahoo.com>

Dear Candidate,
Thank you for responding to our advertisement for "Data Entry Operators".

The job that we have for you is quite simple. We have thousands of opt-in
Job Seekers in North America who pay to have their resumes distributed
to several of our Affiliate Job Sites in order to increase their chance of
finding a career job.

We need a number of Data Processors to process our clients' resumes
according to our guidelines and instructions � see copy attached.

You will be paid US$25.00 per batch of 10 resumes processed
according to the instructions. Earnings will be calculated and paid
fortnightly. All payments will be mailed out on the 1st and 15th of each
month.

Our Data Processors are currently averaging 30 to 40 resumes per day.
There is no limit on the maximum number of resumes you can process per
day or the number of days you can work per week. This is up to you.

Of course, the nature of this job requires complete confidentiality on your
part. Under no circumstances should clients information be disclosed to a
third party or be used by you for any other purpose than that for which
you are contracted. Under no circumstances should you contact our clients.

If you are selected as one of our Data Entry Operators you will be contacted
to sign our confidentiality and contractual agreements before being sent
your first batches of work to be done by email.

Kindly indicate (by replying to this email) if you still wish to be
considered for this position.


Best Regards!
Michael D James
Human Resource Consultant
http://www.campdenresearch.com/internalvacancies.htm
(416) 557-3132
NOTE: This email message is intended only for the named recipient(s) above
and may contain information that is privileged, confidential, and or exempt
from disclosure under applicable law. If you have received this message in
error, or are not the named recipient(s), please immediately contact the
sender and delete this email message.

poirot
9 May 2006, 02:48
The domain is 4 months old, one year term. The telephone is a Toronto Canada Bell Mobility cellular. Not to comforting but more research would be needed.

Rob
9 May 2006, 12:29
Fishy? Looks like a (more or less) regular job-scam for me. Where does the IP point to?

Nyla
9 May 2006, 16:23
Looks like a good candidate for the "We only pay by direct deposit, oops, we accidentally paid you too early, could you please WU that to us like a good employee?" approach. A very similar scam was highlighted on my local news a few months back.

Domain might be legit and the Yahoo scammer is just using it. I've seen similar approaches with "payment processing" scammers pointing to legitimate company websites but using freemail.

poirot
9 May 2006, 23:24
Domain might be legit and the Yahoo scammer is just using it. I've seen similar approaches with "payment processing" scammers pointing to legitimate company websites but using freemail.

I had the same thought.