View Full Version : provident insurance & security company
I was proposed to demurrage two boxes for a Lady from Ghana in a refugee camp. the company holding the consignment appears in different ways and seems to have several "Directors" who seem not to know one another... Also some Email adresses do not exist anymore...
Do you know about this company? It apears to have different faces
Here some infos to check:
1 -
http://www.providentsecuritygh.com/
For more information, please call 00233-285025133 AND 00233-21509073 AND LASTLY THE FAX NUMBERS ARE :00233-21509074 AND 00233-21509075 AND 00233-21500773
Email: info@providentsecuritygh.com
DR.THOMAS TAWFIK, MANAGING DIRECTOR
DR. ITIVE OKIEMUTE, OPERATIONAL MANAGER
etc as listed on hompage
2 -
providentsec_com@ny.com
Contact person: Dr Paul Ahmed(Director of Operations)
Phone Number: 00233243256467.
3 -
From: "Paul Ahmed" <pisc_gh@surfy.net>
To:
Subject: PISC/DR PAUL AHMED
THANK'S FOR YOUR CO-OPERATION
DR PAUL.
+233-20-9037822
OFFICE OF THE MANAGING DIRECTOR,
PROVIDENT INSURANCE & SECURITY CO.
ACCRA-GHANA.(WEST AFRICA)
DR.THOMAS TAWFIK
(M.D)
PS Email of Dr Paul Ahmed pisc_gh@surfy.net is not valid anymore!
Who can find out what is real and what is fake?
Daneel
24 April 2006, 16:30
I'm afraid none of these are real.
The website http://www.providentsecuritygh.com/ is fake and that company doesn't seem to exist in the real world. The only place where I could find it mentioned was as part of a scam here:
http://forum.419eater.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=576605
The two numbers for Paul Ahmed go to anonymous mobiles which is what most scammers use. The numbers on the website are geographic, which is less common but not very unusual either.
@ny.com and @surfy.net are free email addresses that anyone could have signed up for.
Thanks for mentioning the scammer site. Someone may be able to get it shut down by contacting the webhost.
The story about a woman in a refugee camp is a typical 419 scam, the "woman" was most likely a young West African man in an internet café. Refugee camps in Africa don't have internet connections. The word demurrage also gives it away as a scam, only scammers use it in that fashion and it doesn't mean what they think it means. And of course, the consignment worth x million dollars never existed.
If you have sent any money to these criminals, please contact the police and save all correspondence with them in case it can be used as evidence. If you have any further question please don't hesitate to ask and we will try to answer them as well as we can.
I asked them about Dr Paul Ahmed....
OFFICE OF THE MANAGING DIRECTOR,
PROVIDENT INSURANCE & SECURITY CO.
ACCRA-GHANA.(WEST AFRICA)
24TH APRIL,2006.
ATTENTION:SIR,
THIS IS TO OFFICIALLY INFORM YOU THAT WE THE MANAGERIAL BOARD OF P.I.S.C
ACCRA-GHANA TODAY JUST ACKNOWLEDGED THE RECEIPT OF YOUR EMAIL DUE TO OUR
SUDDEN HOLIDAY MEANWHILE SIR, BE WELL INFORMED THAT DR.PAUL AHMED WAS THE
FORMER HEAD OF THE FIRM AND HE HAVE BEEN TRANSFERRED TO THE BRANCH HEAD
OFFICE OF THE COMPANY IN SOUTH AFRICA AND AT PRESENT I AM THE HEAD OF THE
COMPANY HERE IN GHANA AND MY SECOND IN COMMAND IS THE OPERATIONAL MANAGER
:DR. ITIVE OKIEMUTE MEANWHILE SIR, BE WELL INFORMED THAT AS SOON AS YOU
ARE READY FOR YOUR CONSIGNMENT TO BE DELIVERRED TO YOU THEN CONTACT THE
COMPANY VIA EMAIL AND CALL THE FIRM ON TELEPHONE NUMBER 00233-285025133.
SIR, THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NOTIFICATION.
THANK YOU SIR,
DR.THOMAS TAWFIK
(M.D)
Daneel
24 April 2006, 17:44
That number is for an anonymous mobile. Real companies, even in Ghana, do not use mobile numbers as their main contact number.
Shamfien
24 April 2006, 17:45
You can also check the initial scammers email here (http://www.joewein.net/419/419check.htm) (Thanks Joe Wein)
If you copy and paste the first email you received from this "Lady" into the Scam-o-Matic it will tell you what you need to look for with regards to scam emails.
The website which you have been givin is a nice nugget.
It was set up to convince possible victims.Many innocent people have lost a lot of money because they have fallen for "proof like this.
I take it that you are aware that this is a scam.I recomend that if you want to continue "baiting" them that you donot give out ANY personal details.
These people may appear harmeless but in fact are organised criminals.
If you want to shut down www.providentsecuritygh.com yourself, PM me and I can show you how. 4URIS only ;)
Alternativly,you can google "scambaiting" and join one of the many scam baiting communities.
Can you provide us with the email that referred you to the website in question? That will help us to get it shut down.
Unregistered
25 September 2006, 15:23
This number should go to Ghana Commercial Bank LTD, Accra Ghana
00233 21509074
I tried to call it, but no one seams to be picking up the phone.
Is there any way of finding out if this is really the telephone number of the bank. I tried to find a telephone number on the banks homepage.
Do you now if there is a webpage were I can search for telephone numbers in Accra Ghana?
poirot
25 September 2006, 16:20
There aren't too many searchable resources regarding Ghana but this one seems to be accurate as best I can evaluate under the circonstances.
AS AT DECEMBER 2004
Ghana Commercial Bank Ltd.
Head Office
P.O. Box 134
Accra
Tel 233 21 664911-8
Cables and Telegrams “COMMERBANK”
Telex: 233 21 2034
Fax: 233 21 662168
E-mail: gcbmail@gcb.com.gh
Website:www.gcb.com.gh
It would be just as helpful if you could post an email address that is supposably from this bank. If you don't wish to reveal the exact address, just post the part after the "@"
@xxxxxxx.com
That may reveal wether legitimate or not.
*EDIT: Here is a link that has further details:
http://www.africanselect.com/scripts/cgiip.wsc/tradeone/html/quote_and_news.r?pisharetype-id=12655
FW Admin
25 September 2006, 16:21
This is the actual address and telephoe number of the GCB:
Ghana Commercial Bank Building Thorpe Road High Street P.O. Box 134
Accra,
GHA +233-21-664914 (Phone) as per this page:
http://finance.google.com/finance?cid=676446
As you can see, the telephone number is somewhat different. The number given in the email above indicates thus:
Number billable as geographic number
Country or destination Ghana
City or exchange location Madina
Original network provider* Ghana Telecom I'm not sure of my geography, but Madina isn't Accra as far as I know?
Rob
26 September 2006, 11:33
it's offline for now
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.