PDA

View Full Version : Is this a scam?


Alvin
19 April 2006, 03:39
I received this email. Sounds phishy to me

Donations collector / Cashing courier is the part-time job position.

Your duties will be to receive Donations as checks by mail
and make Donations reach their Destinations.
Your work will consist of tasks. Each task will be e-mailed
to you and confirmed by the phone, if needed.
Each task will contain instructions on how to process new donation(s).

If you receive the donation as a personal, cashier, or other check,
then you have to cash this check as instructed in e-mailed task,
then transfer funds to the Destination as instructed.

You will be making 7% from every donation.
The rest of the amount will need to be sent with Western Union
to the destination.
After we verify you sent the money, you will be assigned more donations.
During the second week we raise your percentage up to 10%.

We guarantee you make at least 500$ for yourself for the
first week if you process 5 donations.

This job can be done full time or part time.

If you would like to get started please let me know and
I will send you the contract.

Q & A

1. How do I handle the taxes?
By the end of the year per your request we provide 1099 form
which will be showing the amount youve earned.

2. I dont have to pay anything to get started,
are there any fees after?
No, there is no fees before or after you start.

3. Do I have to contact any third parties for donations?
No, you don't have to contact anybody for donations,
you will be getting them by mail from our regional manager.



Sincerely, Robert Bradley
Robert.Bradley@elainehome.org

www.elainehome.org

Daneel
19 April 2006, 08:54
It's more fishy than phishy :)

Definitely a scam. They will probably send you a fake check, which will bounce in a couple of days/weeks/months after you've sent on the money to the scammers. Or you'll be laundering money for them, in which case you'll still have to pay it back once the police get you.

Some info here:
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=257

The elainehome.org domain is registered with a free Yahoo email address and hosted in China. Probably a scammer site, but not easy to get it shut down.

Rob
20 April 2006, 14:52
hosted in China. Probably a scammer site, but not easy to get it shut down.
Yep, I've filed a wdprs-complaint, but I wouldn't wonder if this would be unsuccessfull.

joewein
20 April 2006, 16:03
There is no such thing as a legitimate "Payment Processing" job. It's illegal for a private individual to cash checks for funds that are meant for a third party. This constitutes money laundering and operating a financial business without a government license and the required insurance.

You would be breaking the law even if the checks that you're meant to cash weren't fake, altered or stolen (which they invariably are).