PDA

View Full Version : China Earthquake Donation Scam - parfumondo.com


John Fairheart
18 May 2008, 18:12
SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

It never takes long for scamming low-life scum to attempt to suck the marrow from hard working and caring individuals in attempts to line their own pockets.

After the mysery of a major disaster we commonly see scamming scum erecting donation scam sites, here is one that just popped into my spam catcher email account only a matter of a few minutes ago.

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

Here is the email send to me:-

http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj258/fraudwatchers/parfumondo-logo.gif

On Monday, May 12, at 2.28 p.m. Beijing time (6:28 GMT), a major earthquake, measuring 7.8 on the Richter scale, jolted southwestern China's Sichuan Province. Several lower-scale earthquakes and aftershocks followed in the same area. The quake destroyed many buildings in the area, as well as infrastructure like communication towers.

According to the latest reports, more than 30,000 people have died and many more have been injured or are reported missing. Many schools were destroyed, including one that had at least 900 students in it. As authorities reach more remote areas, these numbers are expected to rise.
You can help those affected by countless crises around the world each year by making a financial gift to the Parfumondo Response Fund, which will provide immediate relief and long-term support through supplies, technical assistance and other support to help those in need. Every dollar helps a soul.

http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj258/fraudwatchers/parfumondo-click.gif
(image link removed)

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

This is what the website looks like at the moment:-

http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj258/fraudwatchers/parfumondo-home.png

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

But this is what it looked like before the disaster...

http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj258/fraudwatchers/parfumondo-home-old.png

SCAM AND FRAUD => parfumondo.com

Do not under any cicumstances send any donations to the parfumondo site, it will NOT help the victims of the Chinese Earthquake!

John Fairheart
18 May 2008, 18:24
Header details indicate that the scam email is being sent out via an account at "pennyhost.com" rather than via the website account which is hosted on GoDaddy. This no doubt is an attempt to preserve the actual website from being shut down too quickly. There is also an indication that the spammer is using a Comcast internet connection to send out the email.

Return-Path: <contact@parfumondo.com>
X-Mail-from: contact@parfumondo.com
Received: from PH14 (ph14.pennyhost.com [216.250.231.83])
by mx1.messagingengine.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id CE0F2285EE9
for <snipped>; Sun, 18 May 2008 12:27:02 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from User [75.145.19.141] by PH14 with ESMTP
(SMTPD-8.22) id A98D23868; Sun, 18 May 2008 12:30:05 -0400
From: "contact@parfumondo.com"<contact@parfumondo.com>
Subject: Parfumondo - Because even a dollar can make the world a better place
Date: Sun, 18 May 2008 09:19:36 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="Windows-1251"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 1
X-MSMail-Priority: High
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000
Message-Id: <200805181230656.SM01900@User>
To: undisclosed-recipients:;(some lines snipped as they relate to my webmail account)

John Fairheart
18 May 2008, 18:28
Website hosting details:-

Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Dates: Created 26-oct-2007 Updated 26-oct-2007 Expires 26-oct-2008
DNS Servers: NS55.DOMAINCONTROL.COM NS56.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States

Registration details are hidden by DomainsByProxy, but will no doubt be completely bogus anyway.

John Fairheart
18 May 2008, 18:52
Comcast, GoDaddy, PennyHost and PayPal have all now been informed, nothing left to do but wait. Time for a beer. :thumbup: