View Full Version : Microsoft and AOL
zamoco
5 April 2006, 12:55
I received an e-mail stating that if I forewarded this e-mail to others to promote microsoft & aol that after 2 weeks I would be contacted Microsoft will contact me & pay me for each e-mail I forewarded it to.Bogus or not?
Arrowhead
5 April 2006, 14:36
This isn't really a scam, but it is bogus, and a hoax. Without seeing the exact email, I don't know which one it is, but it probably looks like the one mentioned in this link:
http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/nothing/microsoft-aol.asp
Whenever you get an email that asks you to forward it to everyone you know, it is about 99.9% sure it's a hoax.
Always do a search on these emails rather than just forwarding them and adding to the problem.
A good resource for researching any questionable email is www.snopes.com.
Shamfien
7 April 2006, 11:44
Here is a similar mail I recieved Dag allemaal,
Music Top 50, een nieuw tv-programma dat binnenkort op SBS6 komt deelt gratis I-pods uit!
Wanneer je dit mailtje doorstuurt naar ten minste 15 vrienden of kennissen krijg je een gratis I-pod thuisgestuurd.
Je moet het mailtje ter controle ook naar bart@musictop50.com sturen, administratief medewerker Bart van Domburg
die registreert wie er allemaal een gratis I-pods moeten krijgen.
Music Top 50 doet dit om aan meer naamsbekendheid te komen.
Stuur je dit mailtje door naar 15 vrienden maak je dus reclame voor Music
Top 50 en krijg je een gratis i-pod. Als je het zelfs doorstuurt naar 50
vrienden, dan krijg je alle singles uit de Top 50 bijgeleverd met I-pod.
Stuur het door!
It basically says:
Foward this email to 15 of your friends (and to bart@musictop50.com) and you will recieve a new Ipod.
If that was the case they would be paying you 10 pounds for every address!
What happens in this case,and I am sure others,Is that the spammer gets to collect the 15 working email addresses of your friends.
If you reply to these mails you can expect a lot more spam!
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.