View Full Version : Is this for real?
KrazyKara
29 March 2006, 04:30
I was contacted by a 39yr old single man who lives in England. He is a Jewelsman by trade. He was trained at a very young age and the people who trained him in this trade died and left him the bussiness. He is an only child and his parents passed away when he was 31. He was diagnosed with cancer a little over a yr ago. He never married and he found my email address on the internet registry. I have been comunicating with him on yahoo messenger and also through email. He has expressed to me that he wants 80% of his money to be donated to charities that will help children, he also wants 15% of his money to go to his nurse who has been takeing care of him ever since he was diagnose, and he also wants me to have 5% of his money for my willingness to donate it to the organizations. I was not skeptical of him until just recently when I recieved by email from his lawyer instructions of what I needed to do to put me as opower of attorney. The bank where his money is is in Paris France and I have to scan my photo id. The only photo id that I have is my driver's liscence and now thank goodness Pa does not put our social security number on our liscence but I do not know if they could get any other personal info from me. I do also have a phone number for the bank and aslo a name of the person who is handling all of this stuff but then again I don't know the time change between Pa and France or I would call the bank and see if it is really a real bank. The name on the email that I got is abdulsadiqamed01@yahoo.com. If anyone could let me know if this is a scam or not before I get much deeper into this I would greatly appreciate it very much.
Kara
Aeval
29 March 2006, 04:50
Welcome to Fraudwatchers!
Yes, it is a scam. You can find a very similar variation of the scam here:
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=595
The phone number for the "bank" that you were provided with belongs most probably to an associate of the scammer. If you post the number here or send me a Private Message containing it, we can check it out for you.
KrazyKara
31 March 2006, 04:23
Ok Cool thank you very much I really appreciate that:D
topcop
31 March 2006, 21:56
Just for general Info,,,, to the best of my knowledge, there is no such thing as an "e-mail registry"... at least nothing available to the public, anyway... whenever a person is told that , or something similar, it is a 99.9999999999%
probibility that it is a scam... one of the little clues..... glad you check it out first Krazy --- tc
florianleli
1 April 2006, 10:34
I recieve a i mail thet tell to me I win.here is the E-mail.
We are pleased to notify you of the release today as dated ofthe Lottery Promotions programme held on March 20th 2006.
Participants were selected through a computer ballot system drawnfrom from a sweepstakes database of over 25,000 names ofdistinguished professionals drawn from Europe, America, Asia, Australia, NewZealand, Middle-East, parts of Africa, and North & South America as part ofour international promotions programme conducted annually to encourageprospective overseas entries. We hope with part of your prize awards, you willtake part in our subsequent lottery jackpots.
The result of our computer draw847 selected your name and email addressattached to e-Ticket Number 902-65478542 with serial number 154, which drew thelucky number 10-30-37-43-02-36 and consequently won the lotterygrand prizeaward in the 3rd category.
Therefore, you have won a lottery jackpot prize awards of £850,950.00 (EightHundred and Fifty Thousand, Nine Hundred and Fifty pounds Sterling Only) in cash prize credited to fileRef. No: UKNL/255457014/05. This is from the total prize of £18,486,220. 00(Eighteen Million, Four Hundred and Eighty Six Thousand, Two Hundred and TwentyPounds Sterlings) shared among the Thirty Eight overseas lucky winners in this category as part of our promotional programme for 2006.
Your prize award has been insured in your name and is ready for claim. To beginyour claims therefore, you are advised to expeditiously contact our licensedand accredited claim agent for Overseas Lottery Winners within a periodof 7days (date of this letter inclusive) for the processing ofyourwinning and remittance to your designated bank account after all statutoryobligations have been satisfactorily dispensed with.
Please be informed that claims notprocessed within the stipulated period may beforfeitted to the pool without further notice.
Its tro or not??????????????
poirot
1 April 2006, 14:05
Just another scam. Simply do a Google search of your winning number: 902-65478542
and you will see other copies of that scam such as here. (http://list.zetnet.co.uk/pipermail/sd-notices/2005-August/000149.html)
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.