PDA

View Full Version : POSSIBLE IDENTITY THEFT SCAM: TARGETING NANNY/BABYSITTER WEBSITES


Beebz
7 April 2008, 11:46
Possible scam by someone going by the name of Micheal Peters. Email address micpeters20@yahoo.co.uk.

Targets young girls pretending to have a job offer for them. Once you have sent your CV, address, telephone number and a picture he says you have the job. He pretends to live very close to you and that he's going to pay you a great salary. He also claims his wife is in a coma.

He then asks you to open an account with two specific banks.

DO NOT DO THIS!!!! It is a scam and he could possibly be trying to steal your identity.

This is the first email he sends out:
My name is Mr Micheal Peters.I am an archaelogist and I need a nanny who would take care of my 4yr old daughter, Anna and my adpoted 2yr old son, John. You would also help out in buying groceries, okay. I'm on an expedition to Australia to recover an old ship and I'd be back home in 4 weeks. Let me know the days and hours you'd be available, okay. You would be paid £15/hour. I have a Honda Accord available for your use to ease any transportation problems you have and I live in <enter place v. close to where you live>. Ooh, I almost forgot, Anna and John are here with me in Australia. Please, get back to me with your cv, mobile number and contact address if you are interested.
Have a nice day.
Micheal

GUEST
17 April 2009, 05:21
I GOT THE SAME EMAIL FROM A "MAXWELL CARTER". maxcater102@yahoo.com

Hello,
My name is Maxwell Carter.I am an archaelogist and I need a nanny who would take care of my 4yr old daughter, Anna and my adpoted 2yr old son, John. You would also help out in buying groceries, okay. I'm on an expedition to Australia to recover an old ship and I'd be back home in 4 weeks. Let me know the days and hours you'd be available, okay. You would be paid $18/hr. I have a Honda Accord available for your use to ease any transportation problems you have and I live in Maplewood, NJ. Ooh, I almost forgot, Anna and John are here with me in Australia. Please, get back to me with your resume, cell number and contact address if you are interested.
Have a nice day.
Maxwell

I DID NOT GIVE HIM INFO ABOUT BANK ACCOUNT BUT I GAVE HIM SOME OF MY PERSONAL INFO AND I AM REALLY SCARED AND UPSET NOW

guest
13 May 2009, 15:37
Mann, I am scared too, I haven't given out my bank no, but I did give my address name and telephone number.. I hope that this doesn't bite me in the butt, because i don't even have enough money to buy food.. all I have is a good credit score..

dodobird
17 May 2009, 01:28
Hello guests,

If you're in the US, you may report it to the authorities via this link;

http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

good luck!

GUEST
19 May 2009, 18:41
Hello
How are you doing!! We had a terrible accident on our way back to United States from the carribeans where we spent the last week on a vacation. Our cruise ship almost capsized due to the terrible weather we encountered on our way back home. Unfortunately, five passengers and two crew members went overboard and we' re yet to locate their bodies.

John is so devastated and hasnt said a word since the incident happened. I'm so scared myself so I cant imagine how he feels. Although, Anna is okay. Also, I would let you know when we'd be home and I'd call you as soon as possible. I'm sorry about the change of events.

full auto
11 July 2009, 06:56
Oy! Banking details are never good to give out randomly over the net. I do have to wonder here about whether they are trying to impersonate the person they receive the CV (resume') and other information with the bank about lost a pin or something. Sounds like someone trying to social engineer (definition here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_engineering_(security))) their way into an account. You'd be shocked at how creative some people can be in their attempt to impersonate someone when it comes to robbing them blind. My guess here with the two account deal is to get details to one (e.g. have them open one with shared account details) and have one bank transfer the funds over as each bank can verify that they have one common account holder. But that's just a guess on my part.

Edit: Just realized how old this topic is, but should anyone still be active here the following hit me a little funny -

He then asks you to open an account with two specific banks.

Which banks are those?