View Full Version : Have You stopped contact? They wont!
Shamfien
26 March 2006, 21:03
Hopefully you now know the people that were emailing you and phoning you were Scammers.
To them it is a business,and as with any good business they will not drop their clients easily!
You can expect them to mail you back again but now they will adopt different tactics.They will play on your emotions as much as possible.They will beg, plead, threaten you with court action, threaten you physically they will even threaten to kill themselves.
They will accuse you of being at fault, your fault that you have wasted so much time, your fault that their baby is dieing, etc, etc........
They will say what ever it takes to get back their customer..... you
Sometimes they will even admit scamming you and will give you a hard luck story as to why they have no other option "Please feel sorry for me....please send money to............"
If you do not answer any of their mails, or their phone calls they WILL stop emailing you...... from that email address.
It takes up five minutes to set up a new email address and pretend to be someone else.If you receive an official looking email from the police threatening to arrest you for not paying the original scammer you can be assured that it is the same person trying to extract more money from you (or he has passed your information onto another scammer!)
These people exploit two basic emotions
Anticipation:
"You will receive the money in seven days after you have paid the fees"
"We can get married after you have paid for me to come to your country"
Fear:
"If you do not pay the money I will come to your country and kill you and your family"
"If you do not send the money I wont love you anymore"
Everything they will do will be over the Internet or over the phone.They can say and threaten anything because it will not cost much.
Once they realise that you definitely wont pay money they will stop and you will just receive their offers of millions,or their pleas to help dying widows every now and again.
poirot
27 March 2006, 00:30
Great template. Thanks Shamfien.
topcop
27 March 2006, 21:03
Outstanding overview Shamfien - All true and correct - Thanks -
James1000
28 December 2006, 23:43
what about just asking for example if you can pick up the product they are trying to sell you???
Shamfien
29 December 2006, 08:21
Chances are they are not in your country so the first thing they will do is make excuses as to why it is impossible to meet you in person (too busy,ill in hospital,wife pregnant,wanted byterrorists, grandmother set on fire etc etc).Dont laugh, they will tell you that their kids have died and blame you for the stress you have caused!
The worst case scenario is that they will agree to meet you. They wont meet you but they will get another scammer who lives in your country to meet you.If you are lucky you would only lose your money..
These people are criminals.Would you have a meeting with people you know are criminals?Their only regret if they killed you would be if they didn't have your wifes email address so they could scam her as well.
Again,I am not exaggerating.
My advice?.... Dont go meet them ;)
Frazzle
30 December 2006, 22:23
what about just asking for example if you can pick up the product they are trying to sell you???
Where are you going to pick the product up from? China? Nigeria?
Or they will agree to ship a sample to you, subject to you paying shipping in advance. And insurance. And customs duty. Then there will be a holdup due to some shipping company screwup, which will only be cleared up by you paying more fees. Then the sample will get lost, and the cycle will repeat.
Unregistered
4 April 2007, 01:56
i just i've benn scam in a similar situation
the site www.eureut.com i bought a cpu and never saw it
be very carefull
sidekicked
12 April 2007, 01:05
I think I was scammed out of $400USD after I tried to buy a couple of phones from this guy who originally told me to deposit the money (via Western Union) into a US account. I've never done anything like that before so stupidly I deposited the money. The guy then sent me a scanned copy of a UPS notice with the tracking number (which actually works on the UPS website with my correct details displayed, which made me think it was genuine), but then he asked me to deposit more money for custom clearance to an account in Nigeria which is what arose my first suspicions. His excuse was that the accountant in the States had been in a car accident or something like that. I refused to pay and asked for a refund and he kept insisting that he is genunie etc and is using the UPS tracking number he gave as "proof". Is there anyway I can check with UPS as to what's going on?
ThatGrrl
12 April 2007, 03:27
Hi there sidekicked, and welcome to Fraudwatchers. I'm sorry to hear you got scammed. Unfortunately there is no way of getting your money back; as it was sent by Western Union which is just like sending cash - it will be untraceable.
As for the UPS thing - there were probably never any phones to start with - just a scammer's story to part you with as much money as he could, unfortunately. The website you saw will havew been a fake one, and not the real UPS one.
If you're feeling stupid, please don't. The scammers have spent many months, even years, perfecting the techniques to get a victim to send money. You did well in spotting the scam before it went any further; give yourself credit for that.
What you *can* do, though, is to post all the scammer's information in this (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=110) forum. Name, email address, phone number, the original scam email if you still have it, and the web address of the fake UPS site... these will all help others who are searching for information on the same scam.
TG
sidekicked
12 April 2007, 05:11
I'm SO mad at this guy. Here are his details: CALL AT +447024022437
EMAIL:BAINESBULLARDMOBILES@HOTMAIL.COM
OR: GARYBAINESMOB@GMAIL.COM, but the tracking number he gave for the UPS delivery worked on the website www.ups.com, isn't that the correct address for UPS? How can I check what's going on at UPS and if they have a package waiting delivery or whatever? He said he needed the extra money to clear the package through customs.
btw, here are more details he sent with one of his first e-mails:
"we are a legit rregistered company under uk goverment website on www.ukdata.com which our company name is DEMCO COMMUNICATIONS LIMITED.Registered No. 02694694
156A BURNT OAK BROADWAY, EDGWARE, MIDDLESEX, HA8 OAX"
ThatGrrl
12 April 2007, 22:28
Hi there again sidekicked, and many thanks for posting that informaiton. It will be picked up by search engines, and warn others of this scam.
Well, it looks like you did indeed get the real UPS site. I had thought they were going to use a fake one, as many of the scammers do. What happens when they use the real site, is that they send a parcel to one victim (using a stolen credit card, of course) and use the tracking number from that to trick many more victims.
If you want to, you could send the tracking number to one of our moderators (a list of them is here (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showgroups.php)) and they can have it checked out for you.
TG :)
Edit: Just to add, Demco Communications are a real, legitimate company, who the scammers are impersonating. They are in no way connected to the scam, and as such are just as much the victim in all this as the people who have fallen for the scam.
sidekicked
12 April 2007, 23:16
Thanks so much for that info. I've sent the tracking number to a few of the moderators so hopefully I can find out what the deal is with this guy. I'm trying to string him along until I get to the bottom of it
ThatGrrl
12 April 2007, 23:24
That's brilliant, sidekicked, that you've sent the tracking number to get checked out :thumbup1:
However, before you "string them along", please read this post (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showpost.php?p=21436&postcount=1).
TG :)
Daneel
13 April 2007, 07:28
I responded to your PM and saw this thread now too. I'll just post this regarding the tracking number as it may be interesting to other people as well.
If you track the number on UPS the status is Billing Information Received.
http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/processInputRequest?sort_by=status&tracknums_displayed=1&TypeOfInquiryNumber=T&InquiryNumber1=1Z378VF30490914264&track.x=0&track.y=0
This means UPS doesn't necessarily have the package yet:
http://www.ups.com/content/us/en/tracking/help/tracking/faq.html
It's a trick I've seen before. They just make an order with UPS so they can give you a working tracking number, but won't even send you a box of rocks. UPS never receives a package either.
if you see a list with mobile phones like this one : NOKIA N80 AT JUST $180usd NOKIA N90 AT JUST $200usd NOKIA N91 AT JUST $220usd NOKIA N92 AT JUST $245usd NOKIA N93 AT JUST $300usd NOKIA N95 AT JUST $350usd .. from DEMCO COMMUNICATIONS LIMITED.. REMEMBER...IT IS A SCAMM. i searched a lot. DON'T BUY FROM THEM. IT IS A FAKE.
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.