PDA

View Full Version : is this a scam or not?


Unregistered
17 March 2006, 10:45
Hello there,

i have been receiving the mails (that i m gona past under) now they are asking for 250US$ as fedex charges for my cheque parcel. can u please help me by confirming that is this a scam or not. as i got acknowledged about u today by searching the web.

thx & REgards

Fazzy
____________________________________________________________ __
From: Zone Chamber <zonelawchamber@inbox.ru>
Reply-To: Zone Chamber <zonelawchamber@inbox.ru>
To: fazal Rehman <fazalrehman519@hotmail.com>
Subject: Your call is needed immediately you red this mail. 00229-9718-8068
Date: Fri, 17 Mar 2006 10:34:03 +0300


ZONE CHAMBER
_____________SOLICITORS & ADVOCATES _____________
NOTARY PUBLIC RC No. 8979894
LOT 134 RUE DES AMBASSADES TELEPHONE .+229-9718-8068
Cotonou - Republic Du Benin
E-mail ZONELAWCHAMBER@YAHOO.FR
Contact Lawyer: Barr John Duke (Esq.) Or Bassey Oyo Esq. (BSC. BBA)
___________________________________________________________

Attn; Mr. Fazal Rehman.
Sir,

We acknowledged the receipt of your contact information for sending your package through the Courrier Service .

Sir, your cheque can only be sent to you through Courrier Service as we have inquired from them, and the company can not open it, because it was cealed in an Evelop.

We have inquired today at one of the Courrier Named FEDEX COURRIER SERVICE and below are there formalities for sending out any envelop with normal size and weight to your country Pakistan .

3-4 Days Delivery =EXPRESS= $265
6-7 Days Delivery ( A week Delivery) = $200

The above are the quotation given by the courrier service for sending out your cheque to your destination. So kindly choose among the above Delivery Quotation and reverse back to us by sending the cost of the courrier to us through western union money transfer through the below name

Name Bassey Oyo
Country Cotonou Benin Republic
City Cotonou
Address c/169 misebo

As soon as we receive the cost of the courrier, We will submitt the envelop of your cheque to the Fedex Courrier Service and forward to you the tracking number for receiving.
Thanks,
Your's In Service,
Barrister John Duke

Please, call me as soon as you receive this mail, call me immediately to confirm the receipt of this mail 00229-9718-8068

George Dixon
17 March 2006, 15:16
Hi Fazzy,

I will answer your question with a very loud "YES it is a scam". "John Duke" appears in a number of standard scam emails.

This scam is becoming more common. They send you a check (stolen or forged) which you deposit into your bank, they then ask you to send part of it to them via Western Union. The check will "bounce" (be rejected by the bank after a period of time) and you will lose anything you have sent them.

Break off all contact now.

Please ask any more questions you have and one of the team will reply.

Regards,
George

joewein
18 March 2006, 16:27
The phone number is a mobile phone number, which is typical for Internet scams and the email address is a free webmailer, which is also typical.

No real English-speaking lawyer in Benin would use a Russian webmail provider. Exotic webmailers like that are typical for 419 scams.

You may assume the postal address to be fake.

Once you send cash for the courier fee (which is way higher than real courier fees) you will either be ignored or they will ask for even more money. You will never receive a real payment from these people.

Unregistered
27 March 2006, 09:46
The phone number is a mobile phone number, which is typical for Internet scams and the email address is a free webmailer, which is also typical.

No real English-speaking lawyer in Benin would use a Russian webmail provider. Exotic webmailers like that are typical for 419 scams.

You may assume the postal address to be fake.

Once you send cash for the courier fee (which is way higher than real courier fees) you will either be ignored or they will ask for even more money. You will never receive a real payment from these people.


this is fazzy again, i just want to say thank you to all of u on the help u provided me.

fazzy

Unregistered
27 March 2006, 09:48
Hi Fazzy,

I will answer your question with a very loud "YES it is a scam". "John Duke" appears in a number of standard scam emails.

This scam is becoming more common. They send you a check (stolen or forged) which you deposit into your bank, they then ask you to send part of it to them via Western Union. The check will "bounce" (be rejected by the bank after a period of time) and you will lose anything you have sent them.

Break off all contact now.

Please ask any more questions you have and one of the team will reply.

Regards,
George


i m v thankfull for u & ur site that u saved me from being robbbed. God Bless u .

fazzy

George Dixon
27 March 2006, 11:56
You are very welcome Fazzy, it is indeed fortunate that you came to us with your questions when you did. Help us by telling your friends to always be careful when dealing with business on the Internet.

ArshJaff
17 April 2006, 12:25
Hi, my wife received an email as a lottery winner, amounted to US$ 820,000,00, below i m sending the email for confirmation, is it a fraud?

FROM THE DESK OF THE PROCESSING OFFICER.

DEAR :WINNER SADAF ZEHRA,

THIS IS TO COMFIRM THAT WE HAVE RECIEVED YOUR DETAILS , BANK ACCOUNT INFORMATION AND YOUR PREFERED MODE OF PAYMENT VIA A CERTIFEILD BANK . MAINWHILE , FIND YOUR AWARD WINNING CERTIFICATE AND CHARGES BELOW AS AN ATTACHMENT .

DO COMPLY TO OUR DIRECTIVE TO ENSURE THE SPEEDY REMITTANCE OF YOUR WINNING FUND IN YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT IN PAKISTAN WITHIN 24HRS IN COMFIRMATION OF YOUR PAYMENT.

ACCORDING TO LOTTERY BOARD YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO MAKE THE SAID PAYMENT WITHIN FOUR BANKING DAYS , SO AS FOR THE IMMEDIATE RELEASE OF YOUR FUND .
DO CALL ME IN RECEIPT OF THIS MAIL ON HOW TO MAKE THE PAYMENT -OK.

WISHING YOU ALL THE BEST OF LUCK.

BARR. PHILIP KUMALO ESQ.,
EURO AFRO AMERICAN LOTTERY
RSA ZONAL - AGENCY
HOTLINE: +27 83 553 67 93 .

poirot
17 April 2006, 14:24
Hi ArshJaff,

This is a fraud. The Euro-Afro American-Lottery scam has been circulating for some time. Many countries have lotteries but no single lottery covers three continents (Europe/Africa/America) and you have to buy a ticket to participate. And no legitimate lottery will ask you to pay advance fees.

You can see an example of the Euro-Afro American-Lottery here: (http://419.bittenus.com/Euro-Afro-American-Lottery/)


It is listed several times on Joe Wein's web site (http://www.joewein.de/sw/419-phone-uk.htm) along with other fake lottery scams:


If you gave them your personal bank account details, I would suggest you contact you bank, explain the situation and ask what measures to take to stay safe from these criminals.

bmcret96
27 April 2006, 17:49
Do not send them anything, because you will not get anything in return except a loss of your money.