PDA

View Full Version : Cameroon Assisted Project


Louis
8 March 2006, 13:39
Received an enquiry from the Cameroon as follows-

SENDER-Wilson Mick [wilglobal_links@yahoo.com]-Below are the contents of the inquiry :-
The replies follow and ultimately my response to which I have not heard a thing since-

1/

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Contact Person : Venus
Company Name : Venus Importing Company
Address : No 75 Berry Road
Email Address : Click Here
City : Douala
Phone : 237-1-2356890
Fax : 237-1-2356891
Country : Cameroon
Inquiry Content : We are looking for a good and liable supplier of Mineral Water, Pharmacuetic Product and Vitamines. Kindly quotes us your best offers and prices for our first trial order with you.

Second letter-2/


Dear Sir ,

Thanks for your mail contents have been noted , we are looking for a good and liable supplier which we can work together for the suppling of Antic Baotics to the Cameroon Assited Project Cameroon for all the refuges in all the state .

This project will last for the period of 2yrs , as the awarding committee chairman advise me to apply that is going to help me win this contract if only i will be working with a good and liable supplier for this contract bid .


Urgentl confirm back to me if you can handl this contract for us to give you more details .

Thanks as we wait for response .
Redg,
Mick .


My reply after finding this site-

Attention - Mr.Mick

Please be warned - NO MONEY – NO GOODS is our company policy.
We accept cash TT only and WILL NOT supply goods without payment IN FULL INTO OUR BANK ACCOUNT AND VERIFIED BY OUR BANKERS AND AUDITORS.
If you are seeking registration fees, please note - we DO NOT pay registration fees of ANY kind.
In order to join our list of select clients, we insist on a membership fee of $US 5000.
Our goods are ONLY released and sent to customers on receipt of full payment.
If your company cannot pay its way in full, please delete us from your mailing list.

Nyla
8 March 2006, 16:47
Hello, welcome to Fraudwatchers.

As you suspect, I believe this was a scam setup. The scammer was likely looking to send you a fake check for more than the purchase price, and have you "wire back" the "overpayment". Or perhaps to "flash" your bank account by putting money in temporarily, then pulling it back out after you have shipped the goods or wired money back.

Some red flags include the fact that the free email address could be signed up for by anyone, and it does not show up in search engines. The request for goods is very vague, and the scammer does not spell the things he is attempting to buy very well. The project name is even misspelled. That would be somewhat unusual for an established project and/or an established representative of the project.

The fact that the scammer hasn't replied after your very excellent response supports the idea that it was an attempted "overpayment" scam. Well done, and thank you for posting in the forums.

poirot
11 March 2006, 00:21
I have to agree with Nyla that it has all the earmarks of a scam. I saw other individuals posting their concerns about this and a similar company in Duala, on a Cameroon message board. One of whom stated specifically that he was asked for a $4560.00 USD registration fee. That SCREAMS advance fee fraud, or 419 scam.

http://board.classifieds1000.com/Cameroon/Politics/226664-Fraud_or_Genuine

Those are just posted messages and in themselves cannot be used as solid evidence but it surely advises extreme caution.