PDA

View Full Version : "Yorkie's For Sale" Website?!?


ScamtheScammers
22 December 2007, 19:11
I was pursuing the wide internet world, looking for new an interesting ad's and the such when I came across this site. There was an ad on facebook and it directed you here:

http://pedigreepaws.com/default.aspx

It is a fully functioning site with pictures and prices for each dog. It even encourages you to come and meet, greet and pickup your new puppy! Quote:

We always welcome you to come and pick up your new puppy. Please first to make an appointment to come over and we will be there to meet you personally and also speak with you about your new puppy. We will also have food and your puppy packet for you.

Quite gracious if I do say so myself. I decided to contact them because it just didn't seem to legit. I picked one of the puppies and inquired after him by name. Response:

Thanks for inquiring about our puppy, he's still very much available and like i have stated on my Ad, they are extremely lovable, confident, playful, and very, very sociable!! We are located In Mason City, Iowa. We ship throughout US and Canada and to place an order for a puppy, simply fill in the required details;

Buyers Full Name.....
Buyers Delivery Address……
City…….
State………
Zip code.....
Closest Airport.....

As soon as we get the above information’s, delivery arrangements can now be made then payment must be confirmed before delivery are made. Payment can be made either via Western Union or Money Gram. Once again thanks for contact us and as soon as we hear from you, we will be forwarding our payment info to you for payment to be made.
Regards

WELL! *shock* *gasp* *horror* If it isn't a scam!

I decided to respond with:

I am very interested in this puppy! I live very close to Iowa and would like to come and visit him first and can come as soon as possible. What are visiting hours? And how soon can I come?

Just to see what their response would be. Its not often that a scammer offers this scenario and I wondered what they would do if someone took them up on the visiting option.

Email originated in Amsterdam and my question to you lovely folks out here on the forum is: Is there a way to get shutdown these websites? Its the first actual website I have ever seen dedicated to the cause (usually I see ad's) and I was quite disturbed. It could be quite convincing to an unsuspecting public and wondered, well, what can be done? If anything?:)

ScamtheScammers
22 December 2007, 20:14
Received a response to my email I posted above:

Once again thanks for writing again. Like i previously stated, Lemar is still very much available and yes you can come visit him. We have been getting inquiries from other interested buyers regarding him as well so in order to do this right, if you really want to purchase him, you will have to make a deposit to secure him so that it wont be sold to another buyer. Then after you can pick him up and pay the rest. Our visiting hours are from 10am to 6pm all-through Monday's to Friday's. Please do let us know if you agree to this condition as we continue with this transaction.
Thanks and wait to hear from you soon
Regards

Wow. Man, I better hurry up and make that deposit so I don't miss out! Wow. And this time...the email showed up in my spam box! Replied with:

I think it would be pretty foolish to put a deposit down on a puppy I haven't even met yet! Even though Lemar is really cute and I would hate to miss out on him, I loved all of your other dogs as well. I would rather come and meet them and then pay for one. May I please have you address so I can come and visit? I would like to come on Monday. Waiting eagerly for your response!

Just had to post the response and reply...would still love to know if there is anything that can be done to report a website or get one shut down...:)

ScamtheScammers
27 December 2007, 06:55
Is it possible this is a puppy mill? I found another website from some place in OK where after some convincing they said I could come to their business to see the puppies...

John Fairheart
27 December 2007, 10:16
http://pedigreepaws.com/default.aspx


Domain Name.......... pedigreepaws.com
Creation Date........ 2007-09-19
Registration Date.... 2007-09-19
Expiry Date.......... 2008-09-19
Organisation Name.... Pedigree Paws Breeder
Organisation Address. 4343 Lucinda Dr
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Prescott
Organisation Address. 48756
Organisation Address. MI
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Pedigree Paws Breeder
Admin Address........ 4343 Lucinda Dr
Admin Address........ breeder@pedigreepaws.com
Admin Address........ Prescott
Admin Address........ 48756
Admin Address........ MI
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email..........
Admin Phone.......... +1.9897106242
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ Microsoft Office Live
Tech Address......... One Microsoft Way
Tech Address......... support@officelive.com
Tech Address......... Redmond
Tech Address......... 98052
Tech Address......... WA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email...........
Tech Phone........... +1.8665915483
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... ns1.officelive.com
Name Server.......... ns2.officelive.com


The site is yet another example of a typical scammer using a system, in this case Microsoft Office Live, where the abuse system IGNORES COMPLAINTS. I spent 4 months battling with Microsoft when their "Personal Address" domains (forerunner to Office Live) were being abused in the same way.

I told them back then that if they refused to take action they would end up with a huge problem. I and others spent those months getting thousands of domains closed. Now Microsoft have created yet another system that actually encourages scammers to migrate to them, and have apparently closed the routes of communication that I had opened. Just like Personal Address domains, Office Live is becoming just as popular.

ScamtheScammers
28 December 2007, 00:05
Thanks for your response! I was curious...it really made no sense to me!