PDA

View Full Version : A New Con - Please Read!


Aeval
10 December 2007, 20:18
In the recent days, a new con attempt has appeared on the Internet. The following message is being sent to unsuspecting 'Net users:

Hello XXXXXXX,

Glad to inform you that four month ago your computer was infected our spyware, we had full access to your computer during that time We have complete your adress book, all logins and passwords for "dirty sites" where you registered. We had record form you webcam, incredible! Your hands may be better than hooker?

ok about deals, in 48 hours that video and screen shots will send to whole your contact group.

To prevent that funny actions and to delete spyware form you pc you can reach us by this e-mail:merrychristmasssir@gmail.com
and you will get instructions what to do. We recommend you to write e-mail in 24 hours to avoid problems and maintenance and in this case we can guaranty that we will not send it to your friends.

This letter and further actions will be done automaticly via hi-tech software from china servers

Just write to e-mail: merrychristmasssir@gmail.com and get instructions so, back accounting start right now.

merry christmas

The message tracking details are as follows:

Received: from 66.98.208.83 (HELO gains.house2host.net) (66.98.208.83)
by mta212.mail.re4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sun, 09 Dec 2007 07:28:41 -0800
Received: from lqw (127.150.117.104)
by gains.house2host.net; Sun, 9 Dec 2007 20:58:40 +0530
Date: Sun, 9 Dec 2007 20:58:40 +0530
From: <merrychristmasssir@gmail.com>
X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.01)
Reply-To: <merrychristmasssir@gmail.com>

Once a potential victim responds to the original communications, they get the following message:

Really, i don't have time to answer for all your questions and all your scream, sorry, only 24 hours in a day, in this time i have deal wiz 1000 transfers per day. If you indifferent to your future its ok, tomorrow you will be another human In this situation you have one choice that follow me, For stop this **** and to delete all YOUR files from my server you should send Western Union transfer to:

Amount: 350.00$

FIRST NAME: Dziamir

LAST NAME: Mirzayeu

Citi: Waszawa

Country: Poland


you can send this via Online Western Union transfers by phone, https://wumt.westernunion.com/asp/mtReceiver.asp

i need back from your full name, mtcn number and ill can check
status of transfer online (i mean sent u to not)

That's my last hustle and ill leave that business that's why i will not disturb you anymore.

$350 is not too much and i guess will be funny when your friends will see that. Shocker.

Needless to say, this is yet another pitiful attempt at extorting money from Internet users. The sender of this message is trying to make you think that your computer was really compromised, and that all the personal information contained on your system will be released to all the people you know.

Should you receive such a message, please keep the following in mind:

- Your computer was not compromised. This is just yet another Internet conman trying to get you scared enough to send him money.

- This is a scam. If you receive such a message, please file a report with http://www.ic3.gov and do not bother responding to the crook who sent the e-mail to you in the first place.