View Full Version : Need to check on a website of a lawyer
shortstuff
4 August 2007, 21:20
I posted a few months ago about a yorkie scam my mother went through and how she lost alot of money. Now I receive an email from a lawyer's website who is claiming we can get all of that money back can I get the email and website checked out by anyone of this site before we get our hopes up??? Here is the email we were sent:
HELLO YEAH WE ARE INFORMING YOU THAT WE ARE DONE WITH THE CASE AND ALL THE MONIES WHICH THE SCAM ARTIST GOT FROM YOU WILL BE REFUNDED TO YOU AS SOON AS POSSIBLE,UNDER THE LAW CODE # THE COURT OFFICIALS TOOK A JOINT DECISION WHICH WILL ACCOUNT THAT ALL THE MONIES YOU SPENT BE SENT BACK TO YOU ,WE OBTAIN ALL THE MONEY HE GOT FROM YOU AND ALL HIS PERSONAL WEALTH AND ALL THIS MONEY WILL HAVE TO BE SENT TO YOU WITH THE PET INCLUSIVE,SO WE REQUIRE THAT YOU GET BACK TO US WITH YOUR FULL DETAILS SO THE MONEY CAN BE TRANSFERED TO YOU .
THANKS
LAW OFFICE OF EDWIN K.FOGAM
The World Building
8121 Georgia Avenue, Suite 300
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910-4933
WEBSITE, www.fogamlaw.com
Frazzle
5 August 2007, 05:18
The domain looks legit.
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Dates: Created 27-feb-2004 Updated 13-apr-2007 Expires 27-feb-2008
DNS Servers: NS1.EHOSTINGBIZ.COM NS2.EHOSTINGBIZ.COM
I was referred to whois.godaddy.com; I'm looking it up there.
Registrant:
Edwin Fogam
8121 Georgia Ave
Suite 300
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: FOGAMLAW.COM
Created on: 27-Feb-04
Expires on: 27-Feb-08
Last Updated on: 07-Mar-06
Administrative Contact:
Fogam, Edwin *******@yahoo.com
8121 Georgia Ave
Suite 300
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
United States
3016081555 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Fogam, Edwin *******@yahoo.com
8121 Georgia Ave
Suite 300
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
United States
3016081555 Fax --
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.EHOSTINGBIZ.COM
NS2.EHOSTINGBIZ.COM
However, that email sure doesn't sound like any American lawyer or court process. It sounds like the kind of stuff a semi-literate West African might believe... the court has arbitrarily decided to "OBTAIN ALL THE MONEY HE GOT FROM YOU AND ALL HIS PERSONAL WEALTH AND ALL THIS MONEY WILL HAVE TO BE SENT TO YOU WITH THE PET INCLUSIVE" -- no fine for the Govt, no money paid to other victims... you're going to get ALL his money, plus the non-existent pet! Sounds, um, too good to be true.
Also, did the email come from xxxx@fogamlaw.com, or ekfogam@yahoo.com which is listed on the website, or from a free some other anonymous account like Yahoo or Hotmail?
My guess is that they have just used a legit website as a backup to their scam. It's much more likely that it was sent by exactly the same person who did the scam in the first place.
According to the website, their correct contact details are:
Telephone: 301-608-1555,
301-252-6650
Facsimile: 301-608-1511
E-mail: ekfogam@yahoo.com
I suggest you contact Fogam's using this information to check out whether they really did send the email or not.
If the email was really from Fogam's, it would make them a scamming lawyer. Anyone who claims to be able to recover money stolen in a fake pet scam is almost certainly lying.
Scammers are effectively impossible to identify. They use anonymous prepaid cellphones and anonymous email accounts at Internet cafes. How can anyone be identified?
Add to that that they typically operate from corrupt West African countries, and the chance drop from one in a million to zero. It costs hundreds of thousands of dollars to run an international investigation. Even if you lost $250,000 the police wouldn't be particularly interested.
shortstuff
5 August 2007, 16:35
Thanks the email was edwin_fogam@yahoo.com and there was another email from yesterday but I got it this morning:
HELLO,WE JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW HOW FAR WE HAVE GONE WITH THE CASE AND BY THE END OF THE DAY WE WILL LIKE YOU TO SEND US YOUR FULL NAMES AND ADDRESS SO THE COURT OFFICIALS AND THE COLOBORATORS WILL HAVE TO SEND YOU ALL THE MONIES THEY GOT FROM MR LUMA TODAY OK AND THE CAMEROON AIRLINES WILL HAVE TO SEND THE PETS OVER TO YOUR COUNTRY,SO YOU WILL HAVE TO GET BACK SO WE CAN TALK BETTER AND ON HOW THEY WILL GET YOU THE MONIES.
THANKS
BARRISTER EDWIN
Shouldn't they know this being a scam there really was no pet involved?
Shortstuff
Daneel
5 August 2007, 17:10
Indeed they should if they really were law enforcement or lawyers. But they are scammers, simply trying to trick you that there really was a pet involved.
Frazzle
6 August 2007, 11:04
Thanks the email was edwin_fogam@yahoo.com and there was another email from yesterday but I got it this morning:
Anyone can get a Yahoo account in any name they want (so long as no-one has got the name beforehand). You might want to pass this information to the real Edwin Fogam -- he can probably get the email account shut down fairly quickly.
If you can give me the email headers I am confident that I can demonstrate that the email didn't come from Maryland, and I'll even give you 10:1 odds that it came from West Africa.
Just looking at the text... can you imagine a real American lawyer writing all in capitals? Or asking you for your "FULL NAMES"? And how about this "SEND THE PETS OVER TO YOUR COUNTRY".... ummm, isn't he supposed to be in America? And the "word" "COLOBORATORS"... doesn't he even have a spell-checker?
vBulletin Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.