PDA

View Full Version : Multi-Tech (HK) Industrial Co Ltd. (Real Deal Or Fake)


Swizz
29 June 2007, 20:38
Hi, would like help on this supplier. Few details I have below;

They claim to offer electrial goods e.g Telecommunications, Laptops & Consoles ect.

Jonathan Aaron Menseh
Multi-Tech (HK) Industrial Co Ltd
Flat B, 1 / F, Wing Cheong Factory Building,
21 King Lam Street, Cheung Sha Wan,
Hong Kong.

Multi-Tech (HK) Industrial Co Ltd, we are one of the leading telecommunication and electronic company in Hong Kong that exports products to every part of the world. We have been existing now for over six years with good working team. We ship out expressly via the fastest courier companies in the world. Our products and services is highly demanded in the market as we are known to be good.

Alibaba Link: http://www.alibaba.com/company/0.html?memberid=multitechltd

Products & Prices:

Sony Vaio Vgn-Sz491n / X PC Notebook-400usd
Sony VAIO VGN-UX280P PC Notebook-380usd
Sony VAIO VGN-FE770G PC Notebook-400usd
Sony VAIO VGN-SZ450N/C PC Notebook-400usd
Sony VAIO VGN-FS780/W PC Notebook-430usd
Sony VAIO VGN-SZ430N/B PC Notebook-400usd
Sony VAIO VGN-AR190G PC Notebook-380usd

Apple MacBook Pro (MA610LL) Notebook-500usd
Apple MacBook Pro (MA611LL/A) Notebook-500usd
Apple MacBook Pro (MA600LL) Notebook-500usd

Sony BRAVIA KDL-46XBR2 46 in. HDTV LCD Television-500usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-46XBR3 46 in. HDTV LCD Television-500usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-46V2500 46 in. HDTV LCD Television-500usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-40XBR2 40 in. HDTV LCD Television-450usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-40V2500 40 in. HDTV LCD Television-450usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-40XBR3 40 in. HDTV LCD Television-450usd
Sony BRAVIA KDL-40S2010 40 in. LCD Television-450usd
Sony KDF-E50A10 50 in. HDTV LCD Television-550usd
Sony KDL-70XBR3 70 in. HDTV LCD Television-900usd

Samsung LN-S4095D 40 in. HDTV LCD Television-400usd
Samsung LN-S4695D 46 in. HDTV LCD Television-500usd
Samsung LN-S4696D 46 in. HDTV LCD Television-450usd

Tom Tom Go 910 GPS Receiver-180usd

iPod Nano 2nd Generation 4gb-100usd
iPod Nano 2nd Generation 8gb-140usd

Del Courier: UPS (Express del. 2-3 Days)

Any help? Are they good or fakes?

Thanks.

Frazzle
29 June 2007, 22:52
I tried a Google for the name and found this (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showpost.php?p=33282&postcount=63)

While it's possible that a scammer is using a real person's name, it's also common for a scammer to use the same name in several scams.

The address at alibaba was actually
Flat B, 1 / F, Wing Cheong Factory Building, 121 King Lam Street, Hong Kong

The address does seem to be real. There are several companies on the Net giving various other rooms at that address.

I think it would be fair to assume that Multitech doesn't manufacture Sony laptops or TVs or any electronic devices, nor does it employ 101-500 people as it claims. Given that they're prepared to lie about that, what else are they lying about?

Treat with the utmost caution. If there's any mention of Western Union or Moneygram, forget it.

Swizz
29 June 2007, 23:25
They said for payments under $5000 use Western Union, and for above Wire Transfer.

Nyla
30 June 2007, 06:42
If the wire transfer is to a Chinese bank account held by an individual (for example, James Chen) as opposed to a corporate bank account (for example, Multi-Tech Industrial), then it's just as insecure as WU or MG.

Personal bank accounts are very easy for scammers to apply for without revealing their real identities. If you get scammed by a Chinese seller, you're expected to actually travel to China to report the crime. That's what's required to even get an investigation. Arrests are even harder.

shng
2 July 2007, 08:20
"Jonathan Aaron Menseh" is the same person for receiving Western Union transfer for the "Benzene International HK" scammer. Read my story about the "Benzene International HK" scam in the "A few Alibaba.com scammers" thread. See the link Frazzle provided. (Also here:
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=2168&page=3
http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=2168&page=4)

This Multi-Tech (HK) has a bunch of goods listed at U.S.$500 or less for products that would be USD$2000+ or $3000+ elsewhere in the world. So just use simple reasoning and ask yourself if that could be true. I bet you that they will try to make the deal even more attractive and tell you that global express shipping is free if you order three or more items.

I suggest you take the following actions:

1. Ask the scammer to send an e-mail (from their comany e-mail account) to your e-mail account (use a free webmail account if you can).
2. From the full e-mail header sent by the scammer, you should be able to identify from the sender IP from where it's originated. In the "Benzene International HK" case, the scammer exposed that they were actually located in the scam capitol Nigeria.
3. Call the HK phone number the scammer listed 852-2834-5600 and check if someone is actually there and claims to be "Multi-Tech (HK) Industrial Co." BTW, the mobile number they listed is not a legitimate HK mobile number.
4. If steps 1 & 2 can verify that the scammer is not from Hong Kong, contact Alibaba and request Alibaba to remove the scammer account. Also, report this scammer to Hong Kong police--also mention "Benzene International HK" which I reported to Hong Kong police already.

Let me know if you need further details.